Jos Buttler
Jos Buttler PC- Twitter

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has announced a 19-member squad for the upcoming seven-match T20I series in Pakistan on what will be a historic tour for the Lions. The last time England toured Pakistan was in 2005-06 and the England team will return for a three-Test series after the T20 World Cup 2022.

The England team was supposed to tour Pakistan last year but pulled out of the tour citing security reasons after New Zealand cancelled their tour on the day they were supposed to be playing the first ODI against Pakistan.

Liam Livingstone
Liam Livingstone. Image Credits: Twitter

However, this time, the England board has committed to play seven T20Is first, which will be part of their preparations for the T20 World cup 2022 in Australia, but the squad which was announced for the Pakistan T20Is, are missing some big names.

Big Names Of Ben Stokes, Jonny Bairstow Missing From Pakistan T20Is

Jos Buttler will captain the side with Moeen Ali as his deputy for the seven T20Is which will be played in Karachi and Lahore from September 20- October 2, 2022. Four T20Is will be played in Karachi and the final three in Lahore.

Big names such as Ben Stokes, and Jonny Bairstow were missing from the touring party while Chris Jordan and Liam Livingstone were not considered due to their respective injuries. One big name that was dropped from the squad was of opener Jason Roy, who has been battling poor form for an extended time.

Read More  Bangladesh announce replacement for injured Aliss Al Islam for the Sri Lanka T20Is
Ben Stokes retirement
Photo Credit: (Getty Images)

ECB stated in their official release: “Chris Jordan (finger) and Liam Livingstone (ankle), will continue their rehab and will not tour Pakistan ahead of the World Cup but remain on track to be fit for the tournament in Australia.

England captain Jos Buttler, recovering from a calf injury, will tour Pakistan, but he is expected to be available to play during the latter stages of the seven-match series. In Buttler’s absence, Moeen Ali will captain the side.”

Chris Woakes
Chris Woakes. Image-Twitter

Five uncapped players have been announced by England as well in Jordan Cox, Tom Helm, Will Jacks and Luke Wood. The touring party will fly to Pakistan on 14 September.

England squad for the Pakistan T20I series:

Jos Buttler (C), Moeen Ali (VC), Harry Brook, Jordan Cox, Sam Curran, Ben Duckett, Liam Dawson, Richard Gleeson, Tom Helm, Will Jacks, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Phil Salt, Olly Stone, Reece Topley, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Luke Wood, Mark Wood

Schedule for Pakistan vs England T20I series:

1st T20I: 20 September, National Stadium, Karachi
2nd T20L: 22 September, National Stadium, Karachi
3rd T20I: 23 September, National Stadium, Karachi
4th T20I: 25 September, National Stadium, Karachi
5th T20I: 28 September, Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore
6th T20I: 30 September, Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore
7th T20I: 2 October, Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore

Read More  When will Rishabh Pant join the Delhi Capitals camp for IPL 2024? Sourav Ganguly provides a massive update

Also Read: Asia Cup 2022: Danish Kaneria Suggests Team India Drop Yuzvendra Chahal On Sunday