WPL 2024

On Thursday, December 4, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the esteemed Committee Members for the Women’s Premier League (WPL). The committee will be playing a key role in steering the competition to new heights in the coming years.

The Women’s Premier League (WPL) is a Women’s T20 League owned and operated by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). The first season of the league was held in 2023 and the Mumbai Indians won the inaugural season by defeating Delhi Capitals in the final.

Ahead of the second season of the WPL, the BCCI has formed a committee that will be responsible for helping the league reach new heights. The committee consist of the big names such as Roger Binny and Jay Shah.

“This committee brings a wealth of experience, passion for women’s sports, and a shared commitment to promoting excellence in women’s cricket,” the BCCI stated.

The committee members for the Women’s Premier League are as follows:

Mr Roger Binny – Chairperson

Mr Jay Shah – Convenor

Mr Arun Dhumal – IPL Chairperson

Mr Rajeev Shukla – BCCI vice-president

Mr Ashish Shelar – BCCI Honorary Treasurer

Mr Devajit Saikia – BCCI Honorary Jt. Secretary

Read More  GUJ-W vs DEL-W Today Match Prediction - Who Will Win Today WPL Match? WPL 2024, Match 10

Mrs Madhumati Lele

Mr Prabhtej Bhatia

The Committee Hails From Diverse Backgrounds – BCCI on WPL Esteemed Committee

The BCCI further said that the esteemed Committee Members for the Women’s Premier League (WPL) are excited about contributing to the growth of the league.

“The committee hails from diverse backgrounds and the BCCI believes their collective expertise and passion for fostering women’s cricket make them an invaluable asset to the Women’s Premier League,” the BCCI stated.

“The committee members are enthusiastic about the opportunity to contribute to the growth and success of the Women’s Premier League. They look forward to collaborating with stakeholders, players, and fans to create a vibrant and competitive environment that showcases the immense talent within women’s cricket.”

Meanwhile, the Women’s Premier League (WPL) 2024 auction is all set to be held on December 9 in Mumbai. A total of 165 cricketers will take part in the auction out of which 104 are Indians and 61 are overseas cricketers, among which 15 are from Associate Nations.

WPL 2024, which will be the second edition of the T20 competition, is reportedly set to be played across Bengaluru and Mumbai from February.

Also, in the first season of the competition, the teams had a purse of INR 12 crore for the auction. However, there will be a slight increment in the purse this time around as the teams will be given an additional INR 1.5 crore to acquire the services of the players.

Read More  New twist in Ishan Kishan saga!! Fresh reports reveal that he blatantly refused to play in the India vs England Test series

Sonanchal Gautam is the Assistant Content Manager at Cricketaddictor. He is a professional Wrestling and Hip-hop enthusiast.