Shakib Al Hasan
Shakib Al Hasan. Credits: Bangladesh Cricket Board.

Veteran Bangladesh all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan will miss the T20I series against Pakistan due to injury.

On Tuesday, Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) announced a 16-member squad for the upcoming three T20I matches against Asian neighbours Pakistan.

Shakib Al Hasan
Shakib Al Hasan (Image Credit: Twitter)

Shakib, who was ruled out in the middle of the T20 World Cup after sustaining a grade one hamstring injury, won’t be available for the T20I series.

Bangladesh bowling all-rounder Mohammad Saifuddin will too miss the T20I series and was also ruled out of the mega event after suffering a back injury and played four matches, including the Sri Lanka game.

Mushfiqur Rahim rested for the Pakistan T20I series by BCB

Senior batter Mushfiqur Rahim, who scored 144 runs from eight innings in the T20 World Cup, was rested by the board to give him time for the Test series.

“Mushfiqur did not ask for rest, and there was no such discussion with him. We have decided to rest him after consulting with the team management,” BCB chief selector Minhajul  Abedin was quoted as saying by Cricbuzz.

Mushfiqur Rahim
Mushfiqur Rahim. Image Credits: Twitter

“Mushfiqur is one of our key players, and with senior cricketers like Tamim set to miss the Test series against Pakistan due to injury, we want Mushfiqur to give his best, and that’s why we decided to rest him in the T20 series against Pakistan,” he added.

Soumya Sarkar, Liton Das left out of the Pakistan T20Is

Meanwhile, Rubel Hussain, Soumya Sarkar and Liton Das were dropped from the squad after playing in the T20 World Cup.

Najmul Hossain Shanto and legspinner Aminul Islam Biplob have returned to the side, and Saif Hassan, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, pacer Shohidul Islam and wicketkeeper Akbar Ali are the new entrants in the squad.

The first T20I match will start on November 19 at the Shere Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka.

Bangladesh’s 16-member T20I squad vs Pakistan: Mahmudullah (c), Naim Sheikh, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Afif Hossain, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Shak Mahedi Hasan, Aminul Islam Biplob, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Shamim Hossain, Nasum Ahmed, Saif Hassan, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Shohidul Islam, Akbar Ali

Also Read: Bangladesh Opener Tamim Iqbal Ruled Out Of Pakistan Tests Due To Thumb Fracture