Sikandar Raza Equals Virat Kohli's Record For Most Number Of Player Of The Match Awards In 2023

Updated - 28 Nov 2023, 11:03 AM

Sikandar Raza
Sikandar Raza (Image Credits: Twitter)

Zimbabwe captain Sikandar Raza excelled with both bat and ball in the team’s victory over Rwanda in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Africa Region Qualifier 2023. Sikandar Raza equaled legendary Indian batter Virat Kohli’s record for the most Player of the Match awards in 2023.

The Zimbabwe team secured a 144-run victory against Rwanda in Windhoek on Monday, November 27. The Sikandar Raza-led team posted a total of 215 runs after being asked to bat first. In response, the Rwandan team was bowled out for just 71 runs in 18.4 overs.

Sikandar Raza Becomes First Zimbabwean Male Cricketer To Take Hat Trick In T20Is

Sikandar Raza made history by becoming the first Zimbabwean male cricketer to achieve a hat-trick in T20Is. The 37-year-old dismissed Muhammad Nadir, Zappy Bimenyimana, and Emile Rukiriza to complete the hat trick. Raza finished with bowling figures of 2.4-0-3-3.

The skipper showcased a stellar performance by scoring a half-century while opening the innings. He scored 58 runs off 36 balls, featuring six fours and four sixes. He set up an excellent platform with a 99-run partnership with Tadiwanashe Marumani.

Raza’s all-round performance earned him the Player of the Match award, marking his sixth title in international cricket in 2023. He has the opportunity to surpass Kohli’s record with two more games in the qualifiers and an upcoming white-ball series against Ireland.

Zimbabwe Still In Contention For T20 World Cup 2024

Zimbabwe lost to Namibia in their opening match but rebounded with a dominant nine-wicket victory against Tanzania. They lost to Uganda in their third match of the tournament. Zimbabwe is in fourth place following a substantial win against Rwanda in the recent game.

The Sikandar Raza-led team secured four points and a net run rate (NRR) of +2.276 in the 7-team points table. They are still in contention for the two spots for the 2024 T20 World Cup. Zimbabwe is set to face Nigeria in their upcoming match on Wednesday, November 29.

Punjab Kings Retained Sikandar Raza

Sikandar Raza was the fourth Zimbabwean player to secure an IPL contract, following Brendan Taylor, Tatenda Taibu, and Ray Price. The Punjab Kings chose to retain him for the upcoming season.

Punjab Kings Retained Players: Arshdeep Singh, Atharva Taide, Harpreet  Brar, Harpreet Bhatia, Jitesh Sharma, Jonny Bairstow, Kagiso Rabada, Liam Livingstone, Nathan Ellis, Prabhsimran Singh, Rahul Chahar, Rishi Dhawan, Sam Curran, Shikhar Dhawan, Shivam  Singh, Sikandar Raza, Vidwath Kaverappa

Also read: “Thank You, CSK” – Dwaine Pretorius Pens Down Message After Being Released By Chennai Super Kings


India National Cricket Team Sikandar Raza Virat Kohli Zimbabwe National Cricket Team