Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) Announces The Match Officials For The White-Ball Series Against India
Kumar Dharmasena. (Credits: Twitter)

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has announced the match officials for the upcoming limited-overs leg. India and Sri Lanka will clash in three ODIs and three T20Is in Colombo from the 18th of July, five days after the initial scheduled date. The hosts had to postpone the series due to a few COVID-19 positive cases. SLC has named five umpires, along with a solitary match referee.

The five umpires are Kumar Dharmasena, Ruchira Palliyaguruge, Raveendra Wimalasiri, Lyndon Hannibal, and Prageeth Rambukwella. On the other hand, the match referee appointed is Ranjan Madugalle. Nevertheless, Sri Lanka are yet to finalize the squad for both the ODIs and T20Is since there were availability issues.

England vs Sri Lanka 3rd ODI
Sri Lanka. Photo Credit: (Twitter)

But as per the latest news, all Sri Lankan players have tested negative for COVID-19 and came out of quarantine. Dasun Shanaka looks certain to replace Kusal Perera as the captain as the latter has sustained a horror run as skipper in his brief run. The southpaw lost the ODI series against Bangladesh and returned from England winless in both the white-ball series.

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) announce new timings for the limited-overs series:


Furthermore, the hosts’ cricket board has unravelled the new timings of the start of the matches. The One-day international matches will commence at 3:00 pm as against the initially scheduled 2:30. On the other hand, the T20 internationals would start at 8:00 pm instead of 7:00.

Shikhar Dhawan and co. have already started sweating it out in the nets as their promising young squad prepare to unleash their talent on the big stage. The spotlight would be on Rahul Dravid as well, who takes over as the coach for this tour in Ravi Shastri’s absence.

Also Read: Shreyas Iyer Included In Mumbai Fitness Camp Squad; Hopes Rise For IPL 2021 Comeback