Sri Lanka squad for Bangladesh ODIs announced

Published - 13 Mar 2024, 01:32 PM

BAN vs SL Live Streaming In India – When and Where To Watch Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka Live In India? 1st ODI, 2024
PC: X/Twitter

Sri Lanka have announced their ODI squad under skipper Kusal Mendis for the upcoming ODI series against Bangladesh. The visitors are set to face Bangladesh in three ODI games during the ongoing Sri Lanka tour of Bangladesh 2024.

The SL vs BAN ODI series will witness the first encounter on March 13. The encounter will take place at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram. The 2nd and 3rd ODI takes place on March 15 and 18 respectively at the same venue.

Also Read: Towhid Hridoy slapped with fine for breaching ICC code of conduct against Sri Lanka

Kusal Mendis to lead Sri Lanka in ODIs against Bangladesh

Sri Lanka have announced a 16-member squad for the forthcoming ODI series against Bangladesh. Kusal Mendis will lead the side. Key members like Charith Asalanka, Pathum Nissanka, and Wanindu Hasaranga among others are part of the ODI squad.

SL ODI squad for Bangladesh ODI series: Kusal Mendis (C), Charith Asalanka, Pathum Nissanka, Avishka Fernando, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Janith Liyanage, Kamindu Mendis, Sahan Arachchige, Wanindu Hasaranga, Maheesh Theekshana, Dunith Wellalate, Akila Dananjaya, Chamika Karunaratne, Dilshan Madushanka, Pramod Madushan, Lahiru Kumara.

Also Read: Bangladesh coach played down Wanindu Hasaranga before the series!! Sri Lankan all-rounder plays down the entire Bangladesh team after the series win

Najmul Hossain Shanto to lead Bangladesh

Najmul Hossain Shanto will lead the home team Bangladesh. Recently, Sri Lanka grabbed a 2-1 victory in the three-match T20I series. Sri Lanka won the 1st T20I by a narrow margin of 3 runs. Later, they lost the 2nd T20I by 8 wickets. The visitors later made a comeback by winning the 3rd T20I by 28 runs.

Sri Lanka ODI skipper Kusal Mendis gave an amazing performance in the T20I series. With 181 runs in 3 games, he finished as the leading run-getter in the series. He slammed two half-centuries in the series to win the Player of the Series award.

Among bowlers, pacer Nuwan Thushara was the leading wicket-taker with 5 wickets in one game. Pacer Matheesha Pathirana hunted 3 wickets in 2 games.

Also Read: Watch – Litton Das pulls off MS Dhoni-esque no-look run out to dismiss Dasun Shanaka during BAN vs SL 3rd T20I

Sri Lanka and Bangladesh to play two Tests later

Now, the visitors will aim for a series victory in the ODI series. Both sides will also clash in a Test series after the ODIs series. The Test series will witness two games. The 1st encounter will begin on March 22 in Sylhet.

The 2nd Test will commence on March 30 in Chattogram. Both teams are yet to announce their squads for the Test series. The Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka Test series is also part of the ICC World Test Championship 2023-25.


Avishka Fernando Bangladesh National Cricket Team Charith Asalanka Kusal Mendis Pathum Nissanka Sri Lanka national cricket team