Sri Lanka vs India 2021, 2nd T20I- Toss Report
(Credits: Twitter)

The Indian team will target sealing the series in the second T20I against Sri Lanka as the rescheduled fixture occurs today in Colombo. Even as India did not produce their best batting performance, their bowling performance was exquisite, defending 164 to win by 38 runs. However, they will miss a few players owing to the COVID-19 outbreak rocking their camp.

At least eight players, including Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Manish Pandey, Ishan Kishan, Krishnappa Gowtham, Deepak Chahar, will miss the rest of the series. Though all of them have tested negative for COVID-19, the management has maintained as they have been in close contact with Krunal Pandya. But Shikhar Dhawan has made himself available to lead the side.

India Team
India Team (Image Credit: Twitter)

However, one has to expect wholesale changes in the visiting side. Sri Lanka finds itself in the same boat nearly, leaving three cricketers with an injury scare. Amongst the three, Charith Asalanka’s hamstring niggle looks most concerning of all as he was their most impactful batsman in the opening T20I. Hence, it would be interesting to see how Dasun Shanaka approaches the selection conundrum to level the series.

Sri Lanka vs India, 2nd T20 International – Toss Report:

Dasun Shanaka and Shikhar Dhawan, Sri Lanka vs India
Dasun Shanaka and Shikhar Dhawan (Image Credit: Twitter)

Sri Lanka skipper Dasun Shanaka has won the toss and elected to field first, declaring that Ramesh Mendis will debut and Sadeera Samarawickrama will also play. On the other hand, the Indian team decided to hand four maiden T20I appearances to Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Chetan Sakariya and Nitish Rana.

Sri Lanka playing XI: Avishka Fernando, Minod Bhanuka(wk), Dhananjaya de Silva ,Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dasun Shanaka(c), Ramesh Mendis, Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Isuru Udana, Akila Dananjaya, Dushmantha Chameera

India playing XI: Shikhar Dhawan (capt), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Devdutt Padikkal, Sanju Samson (wk), Nitish Rana, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Rahul Chahar, Navdeep Saini 10 Chetan Sakariya, Varun Chakravarthy.

Also Read: There Is No Comparison Between Virat Kohli And Babar Azam: Salman Butt