St Lucia Kings rope in Heinrich Klaasen as they announce retained and new players for CPL 2024

Published - 06 Jun 2024, 08:05 PM | Updated - 06 Jun 2024, 08:08 PM

Heinrich Klaasen
Heinrich Klaasen (Credits: X)

St Lucia Kings, on Thursday (June 6), announced the names of the players they have retained ahead of the upcoming season of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL 2024).

The St Lucia-based outfit have decided to retain South African star Faf du Plessis while also roping in his compatriot Heinrich Klaasen. Both Klaasen and du Plessis did well with the bat in this year's IPL that ended last month. Klaasen scored 479 runs in 16 games for Sunrisers Hyderabad and helped them qualify for the final for the first time since 2016. 

Overall, Klaasen has been in brilliant form in T20s this year. In 30 innings this year, the wicketkeeper-batsman has scored 954 runs at an average of almost 40 and a strike-rate of more than 182. He has also hit a staggering 77 sixes this year so far. Klaasen is currently in the Americas for the ongoing T20 World Cup and will be looking to continue his fine run.

Du Plessis, on the other hand, led Royal Challengers Bengaluru to the playoffs in a remarkable fashion. RCB's chances of making it to the playoffs looked done and dusted after they lost 7 of their first 8 games. However, the du Plessis-led side won six games in a row to storm into the playoffs. With the bat, du Plessis scored an impressive 438 runs in 15 games with the help of four half-centuries.

St Lucia Kings' retention for CPL 2024:

Apart from retaining Du Plessis and buying Klaasen, St Lucia Kings have also secured the services of Afghanistan left-arm spinner Noor Ahmad and Namibian allrounder David Wiese. They have also retained Sri Lanka batsman Bhanuka Rajapaksa.

The franchise has parted ways with New Zealand batter Colin Munro. Munro had joined the team as an injury replacement last year and did well with the bat, scoring 175 runs with the help of 2 half-centuries. He was the second-highest run-scorer for St Lucia Kings in CPL 2023 but the franchise has decided to release him.

Apart from releasing Munro, the CPL outfit has also parted ways with Zimbabwe duo Sikandar Raza and Sean Williams. Among the domestic players, they have retained the likes of Johnson Charles, Alzarri Joseph, Roston Chase, Matthew Forde, and Khary Pierre. Overall, St Lucia Kings have retained 12 players for CPL 2024 and need to sign five more players at the draft.

Retained & signed players for CPL 2024:

Heinrich Klaasen, Faf du Plessis, Alzarri Joseph, Johnson Charles, Roston Chase, Noor Ahmad, David Wiese, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Matthew Forde, Khary Pierre, Shadrack Descarte, McKenny Clarke


St Lucia Kings CPL 2024 Heinrich Klaasen Faf du Plessis