T20 World Cup 2024: Rinku Singh, Mohammed Siraj left out of India's WC squad selected by Brian Lara

Updated - 29 Apr 2024, 03:18 PM

Brian Lara and Indian Cricket Team
Brian Lara and Indian Cricket Team. Image Credit: X

West Indies cricket legend Brian Lara has joined the chorus of cricket experts in predicting India's probable squad for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2024, which is scheduled to commence on June 1 in the USA and the West Indies.

India is set to kick off its campaign against Ireland on June 5. With May 1 set as the deadline to announce the teams for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024 by the ICC, the BCCI is expected to announce the 15-member squad on Wednesday.

Indian chief selector Ajit Agarkar reportedly met with India captain Rohit Sharma to discuss the probable squad before finalizing the team with his committee for the upcoming ICC mega event.

Amidst the anticipation, Brian Lara unveiled his preferred 2024 T20 World Cup squad for the Indian cricket team, which includes a few unexpected names. Lara named Indian skipper Rohit and young batter Yashasvi Jaiswal as his openers, handing the crucial No. 3 batting position to Virat Kohli.

Brian Lara picks 3 all-rounders in his T20 World Cup 2024 squad for India

The legendary cricketer’s T20 World Cup 2024 squad also featured Suryakumar Yadav in the middle order. Not for much surprise, Lara also included two wicketkeepers in his team: Rishabh Pant and Sanju Samson, despite KL Rahul is set to reportedly getting the backup wicketkeeper’s spot in the team.

Lara has also surprisingly picked Hardik Pandya in his T20 World Cup 2024, despite the Mumbai Indians (MI) skipper’s struggle with both the bat and ball in the ongoing IPL 2024.

Well, the West Indies great’s choice to add Ravindra Jadeja as one of his three all-rounders is obvious, but Shivam Dube’s inclusion is not expected, as he is not bowling in the ongoing IPL 2024 for CSK. Meanwhile, Lara further picked the in-form spin duo of Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal as his spin specialists for the upcoming showpiece event.

Lara’s pace bowling attack is comprised of Jasprit Bumrah, Arshdeep Singh, Sandeep Sharma, and uncapped pacer Mayank Yadav. Notable exclusions from Lara’s team are Rinku Singh and Mohammed Siraj from his T20 World Cup squad.

Apart from some surprising calls, Lara’s T20 World Cup 2024 squad for India is a perfect blend of young and experienced players, along with their incredible batting, fielding, and bowling expertise. However, Rinku Singh’s exclusion is surprising since he has been groomed as the next finisher for India.

Rinku has so far amassed 356 runs at a strike rate of 176.23 with two fifty-plus scores in 15 T20Is for India since making his debut last year. He is also in good form for KKR in the ongoing IPL 2024. Well, Siraj was also dropped by Lara due to the RCB pacer’s indifferent form in the ongoing tournament.

Here’s Brian Lara's probable T20 World Cup 204 squad for India:

Rohit Sharma, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Sanju Samson, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Arshdeep Singh, Sandeep Sharma, Shivam Dube, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mayank Yadav.


India National Cricket Team ICC T20 World Cup 2024 T20 World Cup 2024 Brian Lara Shivam Dube Sandeep Sharma