T20 World Cup 2024: Sri Lanka World Cup squad announced, Angelo Mathews included

Updated - 09 May 2024, 07:34 PM

Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka [PC: X]

Table of Contents

Sri Lanka, on Thursday (May 9), announced their 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2024. Leg-spinning allrounder Wanindu Hasaranga will lead Sri Lanka in the marquee event while Charith Asalanka has been named as his deputy.

Sri Lanka are in Group D for the ICC T20 World Cup 2024. The other teams in Group D are South Africa, Bangladesh, Netherlands, and Nepal. It means Sri Lanka are the only former T20 World Cup winners in the group. The Islanders won their first and only T20 World Cup title to date in 2014 and would be looking to go all the way this year.

Sri Lanka squad:

For the marquee event, Sri Lanka have included experienced allrounder and former captain Angelo Mathews in the squad. Earlier this year in January, the Islanders recalled Mathews to the T20I team after a long gap of three years.

Mathews is the only player in the current Sri Lanka squad who was also a part of the 2014 World Cup-winning team. The veteran allrounder is gearing up to play his sixth T20 World Cup.

There is absolutely no dearth of leadership in the Sri Lanka squad as former limited overs skipper Dasun Shanaka is in the team along with current ODI captain Kusal Mendis and Test skipper Dhananjaya de Silva.

Matheesha Pathirana and Dilshan Madushanka will lead the pace attack for the 2014 T20 World Cup winners and will have the company of Dushmantha Chameera and Nuwan Thushara. Maheesh Theekshana and Dunith Wellalage will take care of the spin department while Dhananjaya De Silva is also a handy option.

Sri Lanka will open their campaign in the T20 World Cup on June 3 against South Africa in New York. On June 7, they will take on Bangladesh in Dallas before locking horns against Nepal and the Netherlands on June 11 and 16 respectively. 

Sri Lanka squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2024:

Wanindu Hasaranga (C), Charith Asalanka (VC), Kusal Mendis, Pathum Nissanka, Kamindu Mendis, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Angelo Mathews, Dasun Shanaka, Dhananjaya De Silva, Maheesh Theekshana, Dunith Wellalage, Dushmantha Chameera, Nuwan Thushara, Matheesha Pathirana, Dilshan Madushanka

Travelling Reserves: Asitha Fernando, Vijayakanth Viyaskanth, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Janith Liyanage


Sri Lanka national cricket team ICC T20 World Cup 2024