T20 World Cup 2024: West Indies World Cup squad announced; Shamar Joseph added to power-packed line-up

Updated - 03 May 2024, 08:41 PM

West Indies
West Indies [PC: X]

Table of Contents

Co-hosts West Indies, on Friday (May 3), announced their 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2024. The tournament is scheduled to be played from June 1 to 29 in the Caribbean and the United States of America.

Fast-bowler Shamar Joseph's inclusion highlights the West Indies squad for the T20 World Cup. The right-arm pacer, who impressed one and all with his sensational performance in the Test series in Australia this year, has played only three T20s so far and is yet to make his debut for West Indies in the shortest format of the game.

At present, he is playing in IPL 2024 for Lucknow Super Giants. Joseph has managed to play just one game so far and failed to do well in the game, conceding 47 runs in 4 overs without taking any wickets.

West Indies squad:

Shimron Hetmyer is also a part of the West Indies squad for the 2024 T20 World Cup. The left-handed batsman had missed the last edition of the tournament after bizarrely missing his flight to Australia. He was dropped from the squad after missing the flight and was replaced by Shamarh Brooks.

The likes of Nicholas Pooran, Andre Russell, and Jason Holder are also in the power-packed West Indies squad. West Indies head coach Daren Sammy revealed that Sunil Narine was also considered but since the veteran star had ruled himself out of contention, the selectors had little choice. As per a report in ESPNcricinfo, Sammy also said that Cricket West Indies has asked BCCI to release the West Indies players from the ongoing IPL as soon as it is feasible.

Rovman Powell will lead West Indies in the marquee event while fast-bowler Alzarri Joseph has been named as his deputy. West Indies are in Group C along with Afghanistan, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea and Uganda. The Rovman Powell-led side will begin its campaign in the T20 World Cup on June 2 against Papua New Guinea in Guyana.

West Indies squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2024:

Rovman Powell (c), Alzarri Joseph, Johnson Charles, Roston Chase, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Akeal Hossain, Shamar Joseph, Brandon King, Gudakesh Motie, Nicholas Pooran, Andre Russell, Sherfane Rutherford, Romario Shepherd


West Indies National Cricket Team ICC T20 World Cup 2024