India's Schedule For The Next WTC Cycle Announced
India's Schedule For The Next WTC Cycle Announced.

With the first cycle of the World Test Championship [WTC] done and dusted, a disappointed Team India will look to shrug off the missed opportunity and start afresh in the next cycle which will start shortly.

India’s World Test Championship campaign will start with a grueling five-match series against England in Nottingham from August 04.

The Indians haven’t won a Test series in England since their 1-0 triumph in the summer of 2007 under the leadership of Rahul Dravid.

The former No.1 ranked team was mauled 0-4 and 1-3 during their subsequent trips to the UK in 2011 and 2014 respectively.

India, Joe Root and Virat Kohli
Joe Root and Virat Kohli (Image Credit: Twitter)

Virat Kohli’s men performed admirably during the 5-match series in 2018 but they failed to win the crucial moments and, as a result, lost 1-4.

Kohli will have another chance to right the wrongs and become the first Indian skipper to win a Test series in both Australia and England.

Following the 5-match rubber in England, Kohli’s team will host the current Test Champions in a two-match series on home soil in November.

Kane Williamson and Virat Kohli
Kane Williamson and Virat Kohli (Image Credit: Twitter)

New Zealand hasn’t won a Test match in India since 1988/89 and they were whitewashed 0-2 and 0-3 during their last two trips to India.

The two-match rubber will be an opportunity for India to avenge the defeat that they suffered against the Kiwis in 2020 and also in the WTC final.

The Indians will then travel to South Africa for a three-match rubber at the end of the year.

Just like in England in 2018, the team competed well in South Africa during their last trip but failed to win the crucial moments and hence lost 1-2.

The upcoming series will be another golden opportunity for the Virat Kohli-led unit to become the first side from the country to win a Test series in the rainbow nation.

Following their return from South Africa, India will host Sri Lanka in a three-match series.

Indian Team
India celebrate after winning the Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2020/21. (Photo: Twitter)

India’s next WTC assignment will be against Australia for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy during the latter half of 2022 on home soil.

India has won each of their last three-Test series against Australia including two Down Under while the Aussies have managed just 1 Test win on Indian soil since 2005.

Their WTC campaign will come to an with a two Tests series in Bangladesh.


India’s WTC [2021-2023] schedule-


2 Test matches vs New Zealand

3 Test matches vs Sri Lanka

4 Test matches vs Australia



5 Test matches vs England

3 Test matches vs South Africa

2 Test matches vs Bangladesh

Also Read- We Will Definitely Continue To Back Rishabh Pant: Virat Kohli

Yash Mittal

Just a student of this beautiful game called cricket. Writer. Storyteller.