Virender Sehwag Added To ICC Hall Of Fame, Becomes 8th Indian Player To Join Elite List

Published - 13 Nov 2023, 02:33 PM

Virender Sehwag, Pat Cummins
Virender Sehwag (Image Credit: Twitter)

The International Cricket Council (ICC) added Indian legendary batter Virender Sehwag to ICC Hall Of Fame. Virender Sehwag became the 8th Indian player who become a part of ICC Hall of Fame.

There were three new additions to the list. Two other members who were added to ICC Hall of Fame 2023 are former India woman player Diana Edulji and former Sri Lanka batsman Aravinda de Silva.

Also Read: “Their PM Mocks Us” – Virender Sehwag Shares A Bombshell Post To Mock Pakistan

Virender Sehwag Becomes 8th Indian Player In ICC Hall Of Fame

So far, only 8 Indian players have made it to ICC Hall of Fame including Virender Sehwag. The other Indian players on the list are Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid, Anil Kumble, Kapil Dev, Bishan Bedi, Sunil Gavaskar, and Vinoo Mankad.

Virender Sehwag was a fabulous Indian opener who scored more than 17000 runs in international cricket. Sehwag also slammed 2 triple centuries in Tests. He opened with legendary Sachin Tendulkar during the major part of his career. After his name was added to ICC Hall of Fame, Virender Sehwag thanked his family, friends and teammates for their support in his career.

“I would like to thank the ICC and the jury for inducting me with this honour. I feel extremely grateful for having spent a great part of my life doing what I loved most, ‘hitting the cricket ball’. I would also like to thank my family, friends, people I played with, and countless people who prayed for me selflessly,” Sehwag said.

Also Read: “Jis Team Ko Pakistan Support Karti Hai, Woh…” – Virender Sehwag Brutally Trolls Pakista

Diana Edulji Honoured To Be First India Women Cricketer In ICC Hall of Fame

Former India woman cricket Diana Edulji was also added to ICC Hall of Fame. She is credited for developing women’s cricket in India. Edulji said that it was an honour for her to become the first India woman cricketer to be part of the list.

“At the outset, I would like to thank the ICC and the Jury for having selected me to be inducted in the ICC Hall Of Fame 2023. It indeed is a great honour to be the first Indian Women Cricketer to be inducted and join a galaxy of cricketers, male and female from across the world. I am delighted to be considered for this award. It’s not only a proud moment for me, my family and friends but also for BCCI and Indian Women’s Cricket,” Edulji said.

Former Sri Lanka cricketer Aravinda de Silva was another addition to ICC Hall of Fame. He was honoured to receive the award.

“I am filled with profound gratitude as I accept the immense honour of being inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame. This achievement is a tribute to the dedication, sacrifice, and love that have shaped my cricketing journey,” de Silva said.

De Silva played a major role in Sri Lanka’s victory in ICC World Cup 1996. During his international career, the right-handed batsman mustered more than 15000 runs including 31 tons and 86 half-centuries.


Anil Kumble Aravinda De Silva Diana Edulji Rahul Dravid Sachin Tendulkar Virender Sehwag