Haris Rauf, Zaman Khan
Haris Rauf, Zaman Khan ][PC: X]

Last Update on: September 14th, 2023 at 03:36 pm

Zaman Khan will be making his debut for Pakistan in the upcoming crucial Asia Cup tie against Sri Lanka. The 22-year-old was not a part of the Pakistan squad for the ongoing tournament.

But earlier this week, he and Shahnawaz Dahani were called as back-ups after Haris Rauf and Naseem Shah sustained injuries while bowling during the game against India. Haris had complained of a ‘discomfort in his right flank’ after bowling 5 overs on Sunday (September 12). On the other hand, Naseem experienced pain in his bowling shoulder while bowling his final over on the reserve day.

And as expected, both Naseem and Rauf are not a part of the playing eleven for the crucial match against Sri Lanka at the R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo. Zaman Khan has replaced Naseem in the team while Rauf has been replaced by Mohammad Wasim Jr.

Unlike Wasim Jr, Zaman Khan is yet to play an ODI. And before the match, he received his maiden ODI cap from Rauf. Before the scheduled start of the game, Rauf handed the youngster his maiden ODI cap and also congratulated him for the special moment.

“Congratulations. The way you played in the PSL, the attitude that you have, the patience with which you play, just carry on in the same manner,” said Haris Rauf while also advising the youngster to never forget his roots.

Although Zaman Khan will be making his ODI debut today, he is not new to international cricket. In March this year, he made his T20I debut and has already played 6 games for his national team.

Read More  Yashasvi Jaiswal Breaks Shubman Gill's Record To Become The Youngest Indian To Score A T20I Ton

Zaman Khan among five changes for Pakistan:

Pakistan have made as many as five changes to their playing eleven that played against India and lost the game by 228 runs. Apart from three forced changes due to injuries, they have also made a couple of other changes. Rauf and Naseem have been replaced by Wasim Jr. and Zaman Khan respectively while Saud Shakeel has replaced Agha Salman who was hit on the face by the ball against India.

Additionally, Fakhar Zaman and Faheem Ashraf have made way for Mohammad Haris and Mohammad Nawaz respectively.

Pakistan playing XI:

Mohammad Haris, Imam-ul-Haq, Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Saud Shakeel, Iftikhar Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Shaheen Afridi, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Zaman Khan