Watch: Steve Smith Commits Huge Blunder In World Cup Final As He Walks Off On Wrong Decision

Updated - 19 Nov 2023, 10:00 PM

Steve Smith
PC:X

Steve Smith had a brain-fade moment and had to depart cheaply in the final of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 between India and Australia at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

The former Australia skipper had to walk out to bat in the fifth over after Australia lost two early wickets while chasing a modest total of 241. He opened his account with a gorgeous straight drive for a four off Jasprit Bumrah’s bowling. But just one ball later, he was trapped in front of the stumps and was given out lbw.

The India pace spearhead outfoxed Steve Smith with a well-executed slower delivery. After making a few adjustments in the field to sow seeds of doubt in Steve Smith’s mind, Bumrah bowled a lethal slower delivery. The right-handed batter was completely beaten by the ball. The Indian fielders appealed for an lbw decision and the umpire had little hesitation in raising his finger.

Brain fade moment from Steve Smith:

After being given out, Steve Smith immediately consulted his partner Travis Head before deciding against reviewing the decision. After talking to Head, he walked off the field straightaway without bothering the third umpire.

And it did not take him and his team long to rue to decision as replays showed that he would have been not out had he reviewed the original call. The replay showed that the impact was outside off stump and Steve Smith was not out.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by ICC (@icc)

Smith’s dismissal saw Australia getting reduced to 47 for 3. However, Australia managed to recover quickly thanks to a stunning century-plus stand between Travis Head and Marnus Labuschagne. At the time of writing this report, they were on 203 for 3 in the 37th over with Head batting on 116 and Labuschagne on 43.

Tagged:

ICC World Cup 2023 IND vs AUS Steve Smith