Watch: Suresh Raina Starts Training Ahead Of Returning To Action In Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

Watch: Suresh Raina Starts Training Ahead Of Returning To Action In Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

Suresh Raina
Suresh Raina. Credit: BCCI

Former India allrounder Suresh Raina is all set to make his much-anticipated return to the cricket field this month. The southpaw will be seen in action for Uttar Pradesh, plying his trade in the 2021 Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. The domestic T20 tournament was originally scheduled to start in November but was postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic. It will be played across six states from January 10 to January 31.

The Uttar Pradesh team is a part of the Elite Group A in the 2021 Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. Former India U19 opener Priyam Garg will be leading the side. Keeping up with the new normal,  all players had to quarantine for seven days under the COVID-19 protocols. And with the quarantine period coming to an end, all the players have started their preparation for the tournament and Suresh Raina hit the ground too in Bengaluru.

Suresh Raina
Suresh Raina. Photo Credit: Getty Images.

The southpaw later took to his social media platforms to post a clip from the training ground. He was seen helping his teammates in fielding drills as he wrote:

“Couldn’t ask for a much better weather to be on the field post quarantine. All set to play for the tournament”

Suresh Raina will be returning to action after more than a year. He was last seen in action during the final of the IPL 2019. He was set to return to action in last IPL but pulled out out of the competition. Despite going to UAE with Chennai Super Kings, he returned home before the start of IPL, citing personal reasons. In August last year, he had also announced his retirement from international cricket,

Meanwhile, Bhuvneshwar Kumar will be seen in action too for Uttar Pradesh. The right-arm pacer has not played since being ruled out of action during IPL 2020. The Uttar Pradesh team also features IPL stars Ankit Rajpoot, Rinku Singh, and Shivam Mavi. Uttar Pradesh will play against two-time defending champions Karnataka, Railways, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, and Tripura in Elite Group A.

Also Read: Ravindra Jadeja Will Always Be In An Indian Test Team: Zaheer Khan

Also Read: Greg Chappell Names His Most Exciting Eleven, Only Two Indians In The List