Michael Vaughan and Mushfiqur Rahim
Michael Vaughan and Mushfiqur Rahim (Image Credits: Twitter)

Former England captain Michael Vaughan made a cheeky remark following Bangladesh batter Mushfiqur Rahim’s dismissal during the second Test against New Zealand. Michael Vaughan playfully welcomed Mushfiqur Rahim to the exclusive “Handled Ball Club.”

Mushfiqur Rahim became the first player from Bangladesh to be dismissed for obstructing the ball in international cricket in Dhaka on Wednesday, December 6. The veteran batter scored 35 runs, including three boundaries and a six, before the rare dismissal during Day 1.

Watch – Mushfiqur Rahim’s Rare Dismissal During Second Test

In the 41st over, Rahim attempted to defend a length ball on the back foot. He felt that the ball might hit the stumps and used his glove to deflect it away. Kyle Jamieson appealed for the ‘obstructing the field’ dismissal, and the umpires gave the decision in their favor.

Replays indicated that the ball wasn’t on course to hit the stumps. This incident led to his dismissal, as the ball is not allowed to be touched with his hands when still in play. Notably, he had attempted a similar action against Jamieson a few overs earlier but was unsuccessful.

Bangladesh posted a total of 172 runs as they were bowled out in the match. Mitchell Santner and Glenn Phillips both secured three wickets each, while Ajaz Patel dismissed two batters.

Read More  "Dhruv Jurel is another MS Dhoni in the making.."- Sunil Gavaskar

Only Proper Players Are Members – Michael Vaughan

Following Mushfiqur Rahim’s dismissal, Michael Vaughan took to social media to acknowledge Rahim’s membership in the unique club of players who have faced similar dismissals.

“Welcome to the very exclusive Handled ball club @mushfiqur15 .. only proper players are members ..,” Vaughan wrote.

Michael Vaughan was the first cricketer to be dismissed under the ‘handled the ball’ law during a Test against India in Bengaluru in 2001. Vaughan, who was on 64, attempted a sweep shot on Sarandeep Singh’s delivery, missed the ball, and it went up in the air.

Indian wicketkeeper Deep Dasgupta was poised to collect the ball, but Vaughan instead picked it up and threw it to the side of the wicket. The umpire ruled Vaughan out under the ‘handled the ball’ law. In 2017, officials categorized this dismissal as obstructing the field.

Also read: “Maybe England Are World Champs Then” – Michael Vaughan Takes A Dig At Mohammad Kaif’s Remarks

Read More  Wanindu Hasaranga banned after slamming umpire over non-no-ball call; Rahmanullah Gurbaz penalized

Saikrishna Vaitla is an author at Cricketaddictor has been working since September 2022.