Andre Russell, West Indies
Andre Russell (Image Credits: Twitter)

The West Indies have named a 15-player squad for the initial three T20Is of the five-match series against England, starting on December 12 in Barbados. Swashbuckling all-rounder Andre Russell is set to make a long-awaited comeback to the West Indies’ T20I squad.

Andre Russell last played for the Indies in the T20 World Cup 2021. The seam-bowling all-rounder is set to join the squad ahead of the first match. He is expected to be a crucial part of the upcoming T20 World Cup hosted by the Indies and the USA next year.

Shai Hope Named T20I Vice-Captain

The West Indies have included 21-year-old uncapped player Matthew Forde in their squad for the upcoming T20 series. Matthew Forde, who made an impressive debut in the final ODI match against England, has performed well in recent domestic T20 competitions.

Sherfane Rutherford, Jason Holder, and Nicholas Pooran are making their return to the T20 team after being unavailable for ODIs. Shai Hope has been appointed vice-captain while Johnson Charles, Obed McCoy, Odean Smith, and Oshane Thomas haven’t been selected.

We Will Continue To Asses In The Lead-Up To The World Cup – Desmond Haynes

West Indies lead selector Desmond Haynes stated that the T20 series against England is a valuable opportunity to prepare for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in June 2024.

Read More  "There was some misreporting" - CA chief Nick Hockley on reports about 'Big 3' ignoring proposals to save Test cricket

“This will be the final home T20I series for the West Indies in 2023, as they prepare to be one of the two host teams for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in the West Indies and USA in June 2024. We have selected a squad that we think gives us the best chance of success in that tournament. We will continue to assess in the lead up to the competition,” Haynes said.

West Indies v England T20I Series Schedule

1st T20I: 12 December, Kensington Oval, Barbados
2nd T20I: 14 December, National Stadium, Grenada
3rd T20I: 16 December, National Stadium, Grenada
4th T20I: 19 December, Brian Lara Academy, Trinidad
5th T20I: 21 December, Brian Lara Academy, Trinidad

West Indies squad: Rovman Powell (c), Shai Hope (vc), Roston Chase, Matthew Forde, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Gudakesh Motie, Nicholas Pooran, Andre Russell, Sherfane Rutherford, Romario Shepherd

Also read: “The Franchise Believes In Me” – Andre Russell On Retention By KKR Ahead Of IPL 2024 Auction

Saikrishna Vaitla is an author at Cricketaddictor has been working since September 2022.