3TC Solidarity Cup- Squads, Format, Live Streaming Details And Everything You Need To Know
South Africa [Photo-Google]

Cricket is all set to make a comeback to the South African shores for the first time after the Covid-19 enforced break. And, it will come back in a completely new avatar- the newly formed 3TC format.

3TC Solidarity Cup- Squads, Format, Live Streaming Details And Everything You Need To Know
Photo Credit: Getty Images

Named as the Solidarity Cup, the newly created concept will see 24 biggest stars of South African cricket in a 36-over contest involving three teams. The teams- Eagles, Kingfisher, and Kites- will be led by former South African captain AB de Villiers, wicketkeeper-batsman Henrich Klaasen, and the current white-ball captain Quinton de Kock.

3TC Solidarity Cup- Squads, Format, Live Streaming Details And Everything You Need To Know
Kagiso Rabada. Photo: Getty Images)

Earlier, Kagiso Rabada was supposed to lead the Kingfisher line-up but the premier fast bowler have had to pull-out of the tournament due to the death of a family member. Just like Rabada, fast bowler Sisanda Magala have also pulled out due to the demise of a family member. Chris Morris, meanwhile, is also unavailable.

Thando Ntini [Kingfisher], Bjorn Fortuin [Eagles], and Gerald Coetzee [Kingfishers] have been named as replacements.

The 3TC Solidarity Cup was supposed to take place on June 27th but it was postponed to July 18th due to the Covid-19 situation.

Also Read: Kagiso Rabada, Chris Morris To Miss 3TC Exhibition Match In South Africa

What are the rules of the 3TC Solidarity Cup?

  • The 3TC game will be played between three teams consisting of eight players each. It will be a 36-over game divided into two equal halves of 18 overs each.
  • Each team will get a total of 12 overs in the innings, divided between two six-over periods in each half.
  • A draw will be conducted to ascertain which team will bat, bowl or sit in the dug-out in the first half. In the second half, the team that finished with the most number of runs in the first half, will bat first. In the case of a tie, the order of the first half will be reversed.
  • Each bowling team will bowl with a new ball for their 12 overs against both opponents. A bowler can bowl a maximum of three overs in the game.
  • After the fall of the 7th wicket, the last man will be allowed to bat till the overs are completed or till the time he is dismissed. However, the last-standing batsman can score only in boundaries or in an even number of runs.
  • If a team loses all eight wickets in the first half, the remaining overs will be forfeited in the second half and the last batsman will be asked to resume the innings in the second half.
  • The team with the most number of runs across the two halves will be the winner. The winner will be awarded by a gold medal while the teams finishing second and third will be conferred with silver and bronze medals respectively.
  • In case of a tie for the gold, Super-Overs will be used to decide the fate. In case of a tie for the silver, both teams will share the award.


What are the squads of the three teams featuring the 3TC Solidarity Cup?

AB’s Eagles: AB de Villiers (c), Aiden Markram, Andile, Phehlukwayo, Lungi Ngidi, Rassie van der Dussen, Junior Dala, Kyle Verreynne, Bjorn Fortuin

Klassen’s Kingfishers: Heinrich Klaasen (c), Reeza Hendricks, Janneman Malan, Faf du Plessis, Thando Ntini, Gerald Coetzee, Glenton Stuurman, Tabraiz Shamsi.

Quinny’s Kites: Quinton de Kock (c), David Miller, Dwayne Pretorius, Temba Bavuma, Beuran Hendricks, JJ Smuts, Lutho Sipamla, Anrich Nortje


When and where the 3TC Solidarity Cup will take place?

The 3TC Solidarity Cup will take place on the Nelson Mandela Day-July 18th, 2020 at the SuperSport Park in Centurion.


Where and when to watch the 3TC Solidarity Cup?

The 3TC Solidarity Cup match will be telecasted by the Star Sports network in the sub-continent. The game will start at 02:30 PM IST

Yash Mittal

Just a student of this beautiful game called cricket. Writer. Storyteller.