The 12 editions of the Indian Premier League have been done and dusted and the 13th one is on its way to entertain the fans at the best scene. In what is going to be yet another scintillating auction on December 19 in Kolkata, the players are all geared up to be a part of the crucial day. As many as 971 players have registered themselves for the IPL 2020 auction and more than 200 of them are capped international players.

India’s governing body, Board of Control for Cricket in India was notified about the new development through an official e-mail. The statement reads that the VIVO IPL Player Registration was closed on 30th November with as many as 713 Indian players and 258 overseas players, comprising 971. All these players are signing up to take part in the hottest VIVO IPL 2020 Mega Player Auction which is expected to take place in Kolkata on 19th December 2019.

Mumbai Indians
Mumbai Indians became the champions for the fourth time last season. (Credits: Twitter)

However, 215 capped players, 754 uncapped and 2 players from Associate Nations are looking to fill the available 73 spots. Capped Indian (19 players), Uncapped Indian (634 players), Uncapped Indian who have played at least one IPL game (60 players), Capped International (196 players), Uncapped International (60 players), Associate (2 players).

Read More: IPL 2020 Auctions: Date, Venue, Purse Balance Of All Teams And Everything You Need To Know

IPL teams have to submit the list of players on December 9

All the respective franchises will now have time until 5:00 PM IST, Monday, December 9 to submit the shortlist of players that will make up the final VIVO Indian Premier League 2020 Player Auction list. Hugh Edmeades will once again be the auctioneer.

Chennai Super Kings, Mumbai Indians, IPL 2019
Rohit Sharma and MS Dhoni. Photo by: Sandeep Shetty /SPORTZPICS for BCCI

Out of the 258 international cricketers, Australians top the list with 55 entries who have registered for the auction. South African players follow next on the list with 54. There are 39 Sri Lankans, 34 West Indians, 24 New Zealand players, 22 England players and 19 Afghanistan players are also included.

Mumbai Indians have won the most titles in the world’s premier tournament – 4 followed by Chennai Super Kings on the list with three accolades. Kolkata Knight Riders have won 2 times, Sunrisers Hyderabad and Rajasthan Royals won the title once.