Bangladesh's Abu Jayed Receives Maiden Test Call-up for Windies Series

Published - 19 Jun 2018, 01:50 PM

Abu Jayed
Abu Jayed.

Abu Jayed, the right-arm fast-medium bowler from Bangladesh, received his maiden Test call-up for the tour of Windies.

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) announced the 15-member squad for the two-match series against the Caribbeans on June 18. The left-arm seamer, Mustafizur Rahman who was struggling with a toe injury has been kept as a standby.

Javed was earlier part of the three-match T20I series against Afghanistan in the series played in Dehradun early in the month. The wicket-keeping duties are likely to be taken by Liton Das.

Mushfiqur Rahim is expected to play as a pure batsman. As per reports, the selectors wanted Yeasin Arafat in the squad. However, his selection wasn’t approved by the Board President, Nazmul Hasan.

Also Read: Prithvi Shaw’s Mantra to Get a Place in India’s Squad for World Cup – ‘Just Keep Scoring Runs’

He wanted to experience in the squad which opened the doors for Shafiu Islam. Meanwhile, Naeem Hasan who was part of the Bangladesh squad that took on Sri Lanka in February has also got included in the list of standbys.

“We have decided to change Yeasin Arafat with Shafiul [Islam] in the last minute as we felt that we need some experience,” chief selector Minhajul Abedin was quoted as saying by Cricbuzz.

“We decided this as there was another debutant pace bowler in Abu Jayed, so we did not want to take any chance.”

Meanwhile, it has been learnt that the squad will undergo a camp under their new coach Steve Rhodes. They will resume training from June 20. The side leaves for Windies three days later.

Selectors decided to recall Rubel and Nurul Hasan

The selectors also decided to recall Rubel Hossain and Nurul Hasan for an important series. Shakib is also expected to make a return after missing the Test series against South Africa. Bangladesh will start their tour with a two-day practice game in Antigua on June 27 and 28.

The first Test of the series begins from 4th July while the final Test will be played from July 12-16. Following the completion of the Test series, the two sides will lock horns in three ODI’s and as many T20I’s.

Bangladesh Zimbabwe Sri Lanka Shakib Al Hasan
Image Courtesy: Getty Images

Also Read: Cheteshwar Pujara Should Keep Batting at No 3 – Gundappa Vishwanath