Indian team celebrates a wicket. Credits: BCCI

Last Update on: September 28th, 2018 at 02:17 pm

The Board of Control for Cricket in India has announced their squad for the upcoming Women World T20. This is going to be the sixth edition of the World T20. The tournament will commence from 9 November. The tourney will be held in the West Indies. India will begin their campaign against New Zealand on 9 November.

Women in Blue will play their second match against Pakistan on 11 November. Furthermore, India will play their third and fourth match against Ireland and Australia on 15 and 17 November respectively. India will play all their matches at Guyana in the Group B of the competition.

BCCI, Women's T20 Challenger Cup
Harmanpreet Kaur. image Courtesy: Twitter

Harmanpreet Kaur will lead in the coveted tournament whereas the southpaw opener Smriti Mandhana will be Kaur’s deputy.

Meanwhile, the final of the tournament will take place on 24 November at North Sound.

On the other hand, Australia is the most successful side in the Women World T20. The Aussies have gone on to win the tournament on three occasions. Meanwhile, England and West Indies have won it on one occasion. In fact, the hosts West Indies are the defending champions of the tourney. Thus, they would look to defend their title in home conditions.

India Women Squad, World T20,
Indian team celebrates a wicket. Credits: BCCI

Meanwhile, India will look to win the trophy for the first time. Mithali Raj might be playing her last big event and it would be a perfect end to her career if she is able to win the Twenty20 tournament.

India Women’s squad: Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana (vice-captain), Mithali Raj, Jemimah Rodrigues, Veda Krishnamurthy, Deepti Sharma, Tanya Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Poonam Yadav, Radha Yadav, Anuja Patil, Ekta Bisht, D Hemalatha, Mansi Joshi, Pooja Vastrakar, Arundhati Redd

Gautam Chauhan

Cricket is my first love. I want to be a wordsmith. I want to weave magic with my words.