ECB Grants Test Central Contract to Sam Curran

ECB Grants Test Central Contract to Sam Curran

Sam Curran, ECB, Contract
Sam Curran. Credits: Getty Images.

England and Wales Cricket Board has handed over the Test central contract to 20-year old Surrey lad, Sam Curran. The prodigy all-rounder was the Man of the series in the recently concluded series against India. Thus, Curran was instrumental in the 4-1 series win of the three lions. Meanwhile, Sam Curran had scored 272 runs in the five-match series and had scalped 11 wickets.

Furthermore, after the impressive show from Adil Rashid and Jos Buttler, both the players make the cut in the ODI as well as Test Central Contract. Consequently,  they will join the likes of Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Root, Ben Stokes and Chris Woakes.

England vs India 2018, Sam Curran
England’s Sam Curran. Image Courtesy: Getty

Sam Curran reaps the reward for successful series against India.

Meanwhile, Sam Curran elder brother Tom Curran takes an Incremental contract. In fact, the Incremental contract is for a player who is not an immediate pick for the Test side. However, that player will play in the limited overs cricket regularly.

Must Read | England squad for Sri Lanka tour.

England selectors have offered 10 Test match contracts and 13 white ball contract for the next one year. The players who play in the white ball version get additional money to County salary. Meanwhile, the board pays separately to the Test specialists and players who play all the three forms of the game.

Sam Curran, ECB, Contract
Sam Curran. Credits: Getty Images.

Here is how England players are in different contracts.

Test Match contracts: Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), James Anderson (Lancashire), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Sam Curran (Surrey), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Ben Stokes (Durham), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire).

White-ball contracts: Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire), Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Liam Plunkett (Surrey), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), Ben Stokes (Durham), David Willey (Yorkshire), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire), Mark Wood (Durham).

Incremental: Tom Curran (Surrey)

Gautam Chauhan

Cricket is my first love. I want to be a wordsmith. I want to weave magic with my words.