Bangladesh has named their squad for the remainder of the ongoing tri-series involving Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe. They have left out left-handed Imrul Kayes, cutting their 16-man team to 15. Kayes last played an ODI in October 2017, with his No. 3 spot now given to all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan.

Bangladesh chief selector Minhajul Abedin confirmed Imrul had been asked to play in Bangladesh Cricket League (BCL), a franchise-based four-day competition, to prepare for the upcoming two-match Test series against Sri Lanka.

(AP Photo /Ashwini Bhatia)

The 30-year-old Imrul had represented Bangladesh in all the formats for quite some time but saw a recent dip in form.

However, he is expected to resume his role as an opener in the upcoming Test series against Sri Lanka.

The tri-series will culminate on January 27, and the two-match Tests begin from January 31. Both the teams will engage in two T20Is following the Test series on February 15 and 18.

Bangladesh Squad: Mashrafe Mortaza(c), Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Tamim Iqbal, Mahmudullah, Anamul Haque, Nasir Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Abul Hasan, Mehidy Hasan, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mohammad Mithun, Sunzamul Islam

Here is the newsfeed:

The IPL is the Biggest League in the World – Virender Sehwag

Nathan Lyon to Lead Prime Minister XI Against England

Joe root Delighted With Change of Fortunes in Australia