India Recall Sushma Verma For West Indies Tour

Sushma Verma
Sushma Verma has returned to India’s ODI squad (Credits: Getty)

The BCCI, on Friday, announced the India women’s squad for their upcoming tour of West Indies. India will play three ODIs and five T20Is in the Caribbeans, starting in November. India did not make much change to the ODI squad that will play against South Africa. Sushma Verma, the wicketkeeper-batsman, was the only new entrant into the squad.

The BCCI has announced a 16-member squad for the tour with Sushma the only addition to the squad of 15 that is set to play South Africa in Vadodara in three ODIs next week. There is absolutely no change in the 15-member squad that is currently playing against South Africa. India are leading the series 1-0 after winning the first game while the second one was washed out.

Read More: Mohammad Azharuddin Elected As Hyderabad Cricket Association President

With the same T20I squad retained, 15-year Shafali Verma will now gear up for her first overseas tour. The teenager made her debut in the ongoing series against South Africa and was out for a duck in the very first over. She had also failed to open her account in the warm-up game. Along with Shafali,  Harleen Deol and 19-year-old allrounder Pooja Vastrakar have also retained their spots in the team.

Also Read: Yuvraj Singh Reveals The Main Reason Behind India’s World Cup Loss

Team India, meanwhile, will be looking to make the most of the series to prepare for next year’s T20 World Cup in Australia. The tournament will take place in March. In the last edition, India had made it to the semifinal.

The first two T20Is will be played in St Lucia, before the teams move to Guyana for the next three matches.

India women’s ODI squad:

Mithali Raj (Captain), Harmanpreet Kaur (vice-captain), Smriti Mandhana, Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Punam Raut, D Hemalatha, Jhulan Goswami, Shikha Pandey, Mansi Joshi, Poonam Yadav, Ekta Bisht, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Taniya Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Priya Punia, Sushma Verma

Read More: Cricket South Africa Announces Fixtures For Mzansi Super League 2019

India women’s T20I squad:

Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana (vice-captain), Jemimah Rodrigues, Shafali Verma, Harleen Deol, Deepti Sharma, Taniya Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Poonam Yadav, Radha Yadav, Veda Krishnamurthy, Anuja Patil, Shikha Pandey, Pooja Vastrakar, Mansi Joshi, Arundhati Reddy

Related Posts