Ricky Ponting, Australia
Ricky Ponting (Image Courtesy: Getty Images)

One of the most successful team this auction, Delhi Daredevils, ended up with a star-studded team with a plethora of stars within their rank, both domestic and international.

During the retentions this year, the only overseas player they decided to retain was their MVP cricketer, Chris Morris. Apart from Morris, they decided to retain Indian internationals, Rishabh Pant and Shreyas Iyer.

The factor which stands out for Daredevils in the upcoming season is the tried-and-tested-combination of captain and coach.

Chris Morris Delhi Daredevils
Delhi Daredevils retained Chris Morris for 7.1 crores
Photo by Deepak Malik / IPL/ SPORTZPICS

DD roped in the services of three-time World Cup winning Australian Ricky Ponting and two-time IPL-winning Indian Gautam Gambhir.

Perhaps, the two would help the Delhi-based franchise to win their maiden IPL trophy which they have been devoid of for a decade long. Captain Gambhir is expected to open the innings for the Daredevils.

This means only one spot is up for grabs for the foreign players to open the innings from Delhi’s roster. This would create a face-off between Colin Munro and Jason Roy who have had successful stints with New Zealand and England off-late. The Kiwis utilised Munro’s seam up efficiently last season. So, Munro will start favourite in the XI.

Colin Munro, Tehere, New Zealand, IPL, IPL Players Auction 2018, IPL 11, Bengaluru
Colin Munro has scored at pace. Photo Credit: IPL/BCCI.

Rishabh Pant, Shreyas Iyer would follow the openers in all probability. The two have had exceptional 2017 season of the IPL. At the important fifth spot, Australian international Glenn Maxwell is expected to follow to the two youngsters.

Maxwell has always been handy with the bowl. Therefore, Gambhir might look at Maxwell for a couple of overs. Chris Morris will play as a finisher at the number 6-7 position.

Fellow Protean Kagiso Rabada, with current form, walks into the XI with his pace and deadly yorkers. Mohammed Shami, if available, would handle the pace department along with Rabada.

IPL 2018: Four Overseas Players who might feature in Playing XI in Delhi Daredevils

The name of Sandeep Lamichhane has echoed in International cricket off-late. The only way to accommodate him in the team is to sacrifice Colin Munro/Jason Roy up the order and put Prithvi Shaw/Manjot Kalra at the top of the order.

Wrist spin of Amit Mishra remains indispensable for the Delhi Daredevils of late. Lamichanne and Mishra form a formidable spin pair in the XI. Shahbaz Nadeem also is another option they would want to go with if Mishra turns out expensive.

Glenn Maxwell England Australia
Glenn Maxwell. Image Courtesy: Getty Images

The number six-seven spot in the lineup would be an option between Vijay Shankar, Harshal Patel, Gurkeerat Singh or Naman Ojha. Throughout the tournament, Dan Christian will feature as a back up to Maxwell while Trent Boult will feature if Rabada remains unavailable.

Here are the two Predicted XI of Daredevils


Gautam Gambhir, Colin Munro/Jason Roy, Rishabh Pant, Shreyas Iyer, Glenn Maxwell, Chris Morris, Vijay Shankar, Kagiso Rabada, Mohammed Shami, Shabaaz Nadeem, Amit Mishra.

Case- II

Gautam Gambhir, Prithvi Shaw/Manjot Kalra, Rishabh Pant, Shreyas Iyer. Glenn Maxwell, Chris Morris, Vijay Shankar, Kagiso Rabada, Mohammed Shami, Sandeep Lamichhane, Amit Mishra.

Sandeep Lamichhane Michael Clarke DD IPL 2018
Sandeep Lamichhane has credited former Australia captain Michael Clarke for his overnight fame.

Delhi Daredevils

Shreyas Iyer, Chris Morris, Rishabh Pant, Glenn Maxwell, Gautam Gambhir (Captain), Jason Roy, Mohammed Shami, Colin Munro, Amit Mishra, Kagiso Rabada, Prithvi Shaw. Daniel Christian, Rahul Tewatia, Trent Boult, Vijay Shankar, Sandeep Lamichhane, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Shahbaz Nadeem. Jayant Yadav, Gurkeerat Singh, Manjot Kalra, Ankit Sharma, Abhishek Sharma, Naman Ojha, Sayan Ghosh