IPL 2018 Players retained by Delhi Daredevils

IPL 2018: Players Retained by Delhi Daredevils

Delhi Daredevils decided to retain players Chris Morris, Rishabh Pant, and Shreyas Iyer in order on the retention day.

Chris Morris has been paid an amount of Rs 7.1 Crore. The all-rounder will not just contribute in both the departments but can also be looked forward as captaincy material after the team decided not to retain Zaheer Khan. They are not expected to use RTM card on him as well, due to his fitness.

Second player in DD’s list was Rishabh Pant. The T20 specialist is one of the biggest hitters in the shortest format of the game. He was paid an amount of Rs 8 Crore as he ended the race above Shreyas Iyer. Pant has played two T20Is as well.

Third player on DD’s list was Shreyas Iyer, who has been paid Rs 7 Crore. The franchise wouldn’t have to pay him this much amount had he not made his debut last year. Iyer made his debut on November 1 against New Zealand. As per the rules, an uncapped player is to be paid Rs 3 Crore, 4 Crore less what DD had to pay to Iyer.

Talking of the franchise, Delhi Daredevils hold a unique record, as it is just one of three franchises formed in 2008, but the team is the sole franchise to have not played an IPL final.

Both Royal Challengers Bangalore and Kings XI Punjab have played the final; though they are yet to win an IPL title.

The IPL auction for the upcoming season will be held on January 27 and 28 in Bangalore. The franchise will go with a purse of Rs 47 Crore in the auction.

News Feeds – 

IPL retention ceremony to have a live telecast

Rajneesh Gurbani called by Mumbai Indians for trials

Follow IPL 2018 news: IPL 2018

Video of the day –