Royal Challengers Bangalore | IPL 2018 | IPL retention |

IPL 2018: Players Retained by Royal Challengers Bangalore

The Bangalore based franchise, Royal Challengers Bangalore decided to retain Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, and Sarfaraz Khan on the retention day in the order.

Kohli was a no-brainer as the captain of RCB has done well enough with the bat to be retained. Apart from that, he provides the luxury of being a captain as well. The most important aspect which also comes with him is the fan base, which just floods in with the presence of Kohli. He will be paid an amount of Rs 17 Crore.

Coming to Ab de Villiers, he was expected to be retained by the franchise. He though left behind Chris Gayle, who has not been retained. The former captain of South Africa will be paid an amount of Rs 11 Crore.

RCB was the lone franchise to retain an uncapped player. They surprisingly retained Sarfaraz Khan, who didn’t play a single game in the last season as he was ruled out of the tournament before the start due to an injury. In 2016, he played five games in which he scored 66 runs while in 2015, Sarfaraz scored 111 runs eight innings at a strike rate of  156. 33. He was paid Rs 1.75 Crore as he is an uncapped player.

RCB is one of the star-studded franchises in the tournament but is yet to win it. Under Virat Kohli, the team qualified for the finals in 2016 but could not cross the finishing line, as Sunrises Hyderabad outplayed them.

This season, the franchise would look to pull off a commendable effort to fulfill its quest to win an IPL title.

RCB will go with a purse of Rs 49 Crore in the auction. They might use their RTM card on Yuzvendra Chahal and Chris Gayle on the auction day.

News Feeds – 

IPL retention ceremony to have a live telecast

Rajneesh Gurbani called by Mumbai Indians for trials

Follow IPL 2018 news here

Video of the day –