Chennai, IPL2019
Chennai Super Kings celebrate their win. Photo by: Ron Gaunt /SPORTZPICS for BCCI

Last Update on: June 6th, 2018 at 10:17 pm

After intense cricketing action for a period of two months, it was the comeback team Chennai Super Kings who lifted the Indian Premier League title for the 3rd time in the history of IPL. Courtesy the victory, Chennai became the most successful franchise in the competition along with Mumbai Indians. Both have won 3 titles and under the same captain.

While Dhoni has been the captain of Chennai Super Kings from the inaugural edition, Rohit Sharma got Mumbai’s captaincy in 2012. They ended up winning three times from there on. However, 2018 proved to be quite difficult for Mumbai as they failed to qualify for the playoffs.

The victory in the final was largely possible due to special innings from the blade of Shane Watson. The former Australian all-rounder was at his imperious best and smashed his way to 117 of just 57 deliveries. His innings was decorated with 11 fours and 8 sixes. He literally toyed with the star-studded Hyderabad bowling line-up. His innings made all the difference in the end as CSK won by 8 wickets with enough deliveries to spare.

IPL 2018
Chennai went on to win their third IPL title. Photo by: Faheem Hussain /SPORTZPICS for BCCI

Also Read: Yuvraj Singh wishes Ajinkya Rahane on his 30th Birthday

There is no hiding the fact that fans love tweeting on IPL. This particular year there were around 18.8 million tweets. This is a rise by 100% considering the number of IPL related tweets in 2017. Meanwhile, the recently concluded final match of the tournament garnered the most tweets in a final ever. It recorded over 1 million tweets following CSK’s victory.

Meanwhile, cricket speaks your language on Twitter showed the launch of different emojis which has been used by several franchises this year. The Hashtag said #WhistlePodu topped the 2018 Twitter IPL Emoji Index by a mile, coming in 175% ahead of the next team. The Chennai Super Kings players definitely gave their fans a lot of moments to rejoice.

Read More  RCB Appoints Mo Bobat As New Director Of Cricket Ahead Of IPL 2024

Every cricket fans were missing the yellow brigade. They remain the only team to qualify for the playoffs on all occasions they have been a part of the tournament. CSK have another sensational record of qualifying for 7 IPL finals in 9 years.

Chennai Super Kings
Credits: BCCI

Also Read: Three Indian Players who Feature in the Guinness Book of World Records

Arya chakraborty

A Cricket Expert who loves revolving his life around the game. An extremely passionate music lover who loves singing and listening to Arijit Singh songs.