IPL 2020: Latest Graphic Indicates The Opening Match

IPL 2020: Latest Graphic Indicates The Opening Match

IPL, 2021
IPL Trophy. Photo by: Deepak Malik /SPORTZPICS for BCCI

With the 13th edition of IPL set to begin on 19th September, the BCCI has not released the schedule of the same. It is less than two weeks before the extravaganza commences after undergoing postponement twice due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic.

The BCCI selected UAE as the venue due to India recording the pandemic cases at an alarming rate. However, the latest graphic of the tournament’s official Twitter account indicated the first match of this year’s competition.

Also Read: Ramiz Raja Underlines Pakistan’s Cluelessness Ahead Of Next Year’s T20 World Cup

It appeared that Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings would square off in the tournament opener since they played the finals of the previous season. However, with CSK’s camp witnessing some positive COVID-19 cases and the players resuming training only on Friday following an extended period, it looks unlikely. Mumbai Indians beat Chennai Super Kings (CSK) by one run in 2019 IPL final in Hyderabad to lift their fourth IPL trophy.

IPL 2020: Latest Graphic Indicates The Opening Match
Rohit Sharma and MS Dhoni. Photo by: Sandeep Shetty /SPORTZPICS for BCCI

Meanwhile, the IPL’s official Twitter handle posted a photo of Virat Kohli and Dinesh Karthik, inviting more speculations. Hence, it looks like the season will start with Kolkata Knight Riders and Royal Challengers Bangalore, two different teams than the one fans hoped for before. Royal Challengers Bangalore have been one of the inconsistent teams while Kolkata Knight Riders are of the most successful ones, lifting the IPL trophy twice.

IPL’13 schedule to be released on Sunday:

Brijesh Patel
Brijesh Patel Credits: The Week

As pointed out by Chairman Brijesh Patel, schedule for the 13th edition would get released on Sunday (6th September). Earlier, BCCI President Sourav Ganguly announced that they would do the same on the 4th; however, no official announcement was in place. The matches would take place across three venues, which are Abu Dhabi, Sharjah, and Dubai.

Also Read: Shashi Tharoor Weighs In On Political Conflicts Affecting India-Pakistan Bilateral Series