IPL 2020: Kevin Pietersen Hopeful Of Delhi Capitals Winning Their Maiden Trophy This Year

IPL 2020: Kevin Pietersen Hopeful Of Delhi Capitals Winning Their Maiden Trophy This Year

Kevin Pietersen,
Kevin Pietersen (Credits: Twitter)

The 13th edition of the Indian Premier League is all set to kickstart in the United Arab Emirates from September 19. The much-awaited edition will kick off with the defending champions Mumbai Indians locking horns with the Chennai Super Kings in Abu Dhabi.

And, as always the anticipation and expectations surrounding the tournament are at an all-time. From fans to pundits to former cricketers, everyone is busy analyzing the strength and weaknesses of each of the eight franchises besides predicting their top-4 favorites for the playoffs and also who they think will be the eventual winner.

The latest to join the bandwagon is former England cricketer Kevin Pietersen. Pietersen, who has previously represented franchises like the Royals Challenger Bangalore, Delhi Daredevils [Capitals], and Rising Pune Supergiant in the IPL, has reached the United Arab Emirates for commentary duties in the upcoming season.

“From a bubble in the UK to a bubble in Dubai…! I love that we have cricket back and as always very excited about working on the IPL,” Pietersen wrote in his Instagram post.

Also Read- AB De Villiers Points Out The Similarities Between Him And Mashrafe Mortaza

I hope Delhi wins IPL 2020- Kevin Pietersen

IPL 2020, Kevin Pietersen Hopeful Of Delhi Capitals Winning IPL 2020
Delhi Capitals. Credits: BCCI

The former England captain also went on to predict the winner of IPL 2020. Pietersen, who has been a part of the Delhi franchise in the past is hoping that the Shreyas Iyer-led unit wins the cash-rich league this time around.

”Who’s winning? I hope Delhi,” wrote Pietersen on his Instagram handle.


Delhi Capitals are one of the three franchises who have never won the Indian Premier League. Apart from DC, the other teams who have never laid their hands on the trophy are Royal Challengers Bangalore and Kings XI Punjab.

That said, Delhi had a brilliant season last year as they went on to qualify for the playoffs for the very first time in seven years. This year, the Shreyas Iyer-led unit has a great mix of youthful exuberance in the form of Prithvi Shaw, Iyer himself, Rishabh Pant and Shimron Hetmyer, and experience in the form of Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kagiso Rabada, and Amit Mishra and they will be one the sides to watch out for in IPL 2020.

Yash Mittal

Just a student of this beautiful game called cricket. Writer. Storyteller.