Sachin Tendulkar, India 2011 World Cup, India
Sachin Tendulkar (Credits: Getty Images)

MS Dhoni led India to their only second World Cup triumph in 2011. India were the team to beat in that season and they went all the way to lift the World Cup after a drought of 27 years. Later, in 2019, India came agonisingly close to get their hands on the World Cup but were beaten by New Zealand in the semi-final.

Commentator Aakash Chopra took to his YouTube Channel to compare each player from the 2011 World Cup winning squad to 2019 World Cup squad before he came to a final conclusion. The comparison showed that the 2011 World Cup winning squad, led by MS Dhoni, was way more stronger than the team led by Virat Kohli.

Aakash Chopra, Ravindra Jadeja, Hanuma Vihari
Aakash Chopra. Twitter

“So if you see the full comparison, MS Dhoni’s team of 2011 has won. That is why, if there is a match Dhoni’s team is stronger and a match-winning team,” said Chopra said on his YouTube channel.

“Should we get a slight perspective, if you have not won the World Cup in 2019, probably you didn’t have a World Cup-winning team only. Because the middle-order was so brittle, you didn’t have the team to win. You should have played Shami and you didn’t play him. You didn’t prepare the team and Shikhar Dhawan got injured as well. So if you consider everything, 2011 team was lot ahead of this team that played in 2019. Therefore the trophy is with the 2011 team and not the 2019 team,” he added.

ICC world cup 2019
ICC world cup 2019

Meanwhile, the 2020 T20 World Cup has been postponed to November 2021 due to the novel coronavirus pandemic situation.

Most of the India players, including MS Dhoni and Virat Kohli, will be next in action at the IPL 2020 which is slated to get underway in September in UAE.