Sarfaraz Ahmed Named In Pakistan's 17-Man Squad For England T20 Series

Sarfaraz Ahmed Named In Pakistan’s 17-Man Squad For England T20 Series

Josh Hazlewood, Pakistan
Pakistan (Credits: Twitter)

Former number one T20 team Pakistan have announced a 17-member squad for the upcoming T20 series against England. All the players reached the United Kingdom shores a month before even the Test series began. Currently, the tourists are battling in a three-match Test rubber, which they trail. They lost the first in Manchester while the second in Southampton resulted in a draw.

Also Read: Neil McKenzie Steps Down As Bangladesh’s Batting Coach

Former skipper Sarfaraz Ahmed returns to the T20 team, having not played for Pakistan since last October. Sarfaraz Ahmed also remains with the Test side; however, Mohammad Rizwan’s compelling performances have kept him out so far. Babar Azam, who began his T20 captaincy tenure in Australia last year, will continue leading the side.

Sarfaraz Ahmed Named In Pakistan's 17-Man Squad For England T20 Series
Sarfaraz Ahmed. Image: Getty

Before the T20I series, the tourists will square off against Leicestershire in a practice match on the 26th. The same will play a part in giving some game time to the short-format specialists like Mohammad Hafeez, Haris Rauf, and Imad Wasim, having reached there long ago. All of them spent time in the bubble the entire time with the Test squad.

As for veteran batsman Shoaib Malik, he left for England last week and would be linking up with the squad soon after completing his isolation period. The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) allowed him to meet his family before leaving for England.

Shoaib Malik
Shoaib Malik (Credits: Getty Images)

Left-arm seamer Mohammad Amir will also take the field after joining the squad, having initially pulled out of it, expecting the birth of his second child. The first of the three T20Is begins on the 28th while the next two will be contested on the 30th and 1st. The Old Trafford in Manchester will play as hosts for all the games.

Pakistan’s 17-member squad:

Babar Azam (c), Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Amir, Naseem Shah, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Shoaib Malik and Wahab Riaz

Also Read: UAE Conditions Are More Suitable To Us- Mohammad Nabi