Parthiv Patel, Abhinav Mukund, Faiz Fazal, Duleep Trophy
Parthiv Patel is announced as the skipper of India Green. Credits: BCCI

The three respective captains for the 2018 Duleep Trophy edition has been announced on Monday (July 23). Faiz Fazal, Abhinav Mukund and Parthiv Patel will be leading India Blue, India Red and India Green respectively in the four-day matches.

The tournament is beginning on 17th August. The triangular first-class tournament will be played under lights (with a pink ball). And the experiment will go on. However, India is yet to play a pink ball Test.

Moreover, all the three league matches and the final of the tournament will be played at the NPR College Ground in Dindigul.

India Red will face India Green in the opening game. The Reds will then face India Blue in the next encounter from 23rd August. The last league game will be played from 29th August between India Blue and India Green. All the matches will commence at 1:30 pm IST.

Parthiv Patel, Duleep Trophy 2018
Parthiv Patel led Gujarat in the Ranji Trophy. Photo Credit: Getty Images.

Meanwhile, a triangular series involves India A, India B, Australia A and South Africa A respectively. So, many of the top domestic players will be busy with their national duties.

Also, the Test players won’t play either. Rajneesh Gurbani, Ankit Rajpoot, KS Bharat and Shahbaz Nazeem will be part of India A squad for a four-day match against the Proteas. But they will join their respective squads for the Duleep Trophy thereafter.

Parthiv Patel, Faiz Fazal And Abhinav Mukund to Lead Duleep Trophy Teams


India Blue: Faiz Fazal (Captain), Abhishek Raman, Anmolpreet Singh, Ganesh Satish, N. Gangta, Dhruv Shorey, K.S. Bharat (WK), Akshay Wakhare, Saurav Kumar, Swapnil Singh, Basil Thampi, B Ayappa, Jaydev Unadkat, Dhawal Kulkarni

Vidarbha, Ranji Trophy 2017-18, Champions, Indore, Delhi, Akshay Wadkar,
Faiz Fazal led clinch maiden Ranji Trophy title for Vidarbha before leading Duleep Trophy Team. Photo Credit: PTI.

India Red: Abhinav Mukund (Captain), R.R. Sanjay, Ashutosh Singh, Baba Aparajith, Writtick Chatterjee, B. Sandeep, Abhishek Gupta (WK), S Nadeem, Mihir Hirwani, Parvez Rasool, R Gurbani, A Mithun, Ishan Porel, Y. Prithvi Raj

India Green: Parthiv Patel (Captain & WK), Prashant Chopra, Priyank Panchal, Sudeep Chatterjee, Gurkeerat Mann, Baba Indrajit, V.P. Solanki, Jajal Saxena, Karn Sharma, Vikas Mishra, K. Vignesh, Ankit Rajpoot, Ashok Dinda, Atith Sheth

Arya chakraborty

A Cricket Expert who loves revolving his life around the game. An extremely passionate music lover who loves singing and listening to Arijit Singh songs.