Sri Lanka Fast Bowler Nuwan Pradeep To Miss India Tour: Reports

Sri Lanka national cricket team have been dealt big blow to their pace bowling department as their fast bowler Nuwan Pradeep will miss upcoming India’s tour which starts in early January. The 33-year-old right-arm medium-fast bowler was named in the 16-member squad for the T20I series which is to be played in India.

As per the highly placed sources in Colombo, he picked up an ankle injury and thus he has been out of cricketing action for about six weeks. The bowler is now being monitored and taken care of the physios. Now that it is clear that Nuwan Pradeep is no longer part of the tour, Mickey Arthur and Lasith Malinga will soon discuss his replacement with the Sri Lankan team selectors.

Nuwan Pradeep
Nuwan Pradeep (Credits: Twitter)

“During practice sessions on Saturday, he suffered an ankle injury and will be out of action for about six weeks”, the source in the know of developments told the reporter according to

“He will be under the care of the physios at our High-performance Unit, the source added. Dilshan Fonseka will travel with the team as a trainer. “Our head coach (Mickey Arthur) and captain (Lasith Malinga) will discuss his replacement with the selectors and a new player will be named”, the source further added.

Kasun Rajitha could replace Nuwan Pradeep: Reports

Kasun Rajitha
Kasun Rajitha. Credit: AP

“Indian visas for about 20-players are ready and therefore it will not be difficult to name the replacement,” the source added. Nuwan Pradeep’s replacement will be named soon. It is also said that fast bowler Kasun Rajitha’s fitness is now being monitored. The 26-year-old Rajitha picked up a leg injury in Pakistan. In case, if he regained his fitness, then he might be named as Nuwan Pradeep’s replacement.

The alternative option is Suranga Lakmal, a bowler with good experience. “Though he is a Test class bowler, he still can be considered for the T-20 side because of his experience”, the source further added.

Sri Lanka will play three-match T20I series in India. The first match will be played at Barsapara Cricket Stadium, Guwahati on January 5. The second match is scheduled to be played at Holkar Stadium, Indore on January 7. The third and final T20I will be played at Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune on January 10.

Read More: Rohit Sharma And Mohammed Shami Rested, Shikhar Dhawan And Jasprit Bumrah Return For Sri Lanka T20Is