India, Five Indian Players, Five India Players Who Might Not Get A Chance Under The New Selection Committee, Sunil Joshi, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Team India
Sunil Joshi. Photo Credit: Getty Images.

Former Indian cricketers Sunil Joshi and Harvinder Singh remain the frontrunners to replace MSK Prasad and Gagan Khoda in the senior selection committee panel of the BCCI. The decision is understood to get finalized on Wednesday. The men in blue’s next assignment would be three ODIs against South Africa after competing across three formats in New Zealand.

Also Read: Hardik Pandya Is Back As Allrounder Slams 37-Ball Century In DY Patil T20 Cup

It is also understood that the new selection panel would pick the squad for the ODIs against the Proteas. The candidates who have been shortlisted for the role will appear before the Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC) for interviews in Mumbai on Wednesday (4th of March). The three member-CAC, headed by former Indian all-rounder Madan Lal had a rendezvous on Tuesday with the BCCI president, Sourav Ganguly and secretary Jay Shah.

Sunil Joshi, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Team India
Sunil Joshi. Credit: Getty Images.

The other candidates, who have been chosen and will find themselves before the CAC for interviews are Venkatesh Prasad, Rajesh Chauhan, and Laxman Sivaramakrishnan. Although, it had come to light earlier that Laxman Sivaramakrishnan was out of the race.

Tenure for MSK Prasad and Gagan Khoda already over:

Sunil Joshi, who featured in 15 Tests for the national side, remains the prime candidate to replace the old selection panel. While the durations for both MSK Prasad and Gagan Khoda are already done, there exists few months Jatin Paranjape, Sarandeep Singh, and Devang Gandhi in the committee.

MSK Prasad, India, Controversial Decisions
MSK Prasad. Photo Credit: Getty Images

BCCI may also continue with its policy of appointing one selector from each zone as Sarandeep Singh, Devang Gandhi, and Jatin Paranjape from north, west, and east zones respectively and are still on the job. The tenures of MSK Prasad and Gagan Khoda, who belong to South and Central Zone respectively, have come to a close.

Also Read: Kapil Dev Criticises Ajinkya Rahane For Poor Show In New Zealand