Tamim Iqbal
Tamim Iqbal. Credit: Getty Images

Bangladesh have recalled their senior opener Tamim Iqbal for their upcoming T20I series against India. The left-handed batsman has not played an international game since the tour of Sri Lanka in July. He had an ordinary World Cup campaign in which he scored only one fifty before enduring a disastrous tour of Sri Lanka.

Want to be a professional cricketer?
Register Now

*T&C Apply

Read More: Faf du Plessis Asks Batsmen To Score Heavily In First Innings At Ranchi

He led Bangladesh in three ODIs, scoring 0, 19 and 2 before asking for a break. He consequently missed the one-off Test against Afghanistan at home and the succeeding T20I tri-series. Shakib Al Hasan, nonetheless, will lead the side in the challenging assignment. This will be Bangladesh’s first T20I series in India. The Tigers had toured India for the first time in 2017 when they played a one-off Test in Hyderabad.

Tamim Iqbal
Tamim Iqbal (Credits: Twitter)

Allrounder Mehidy Hasan and pace bowler Rubel Hossain continue to remain absent from the squad. They were not a part of the T20I tri-series either after both failed miserably in Sri Lanka. The tourists have also recalled left-arm spinner Arafat Sunny and fast bowler Al-Amin Hossain. Soumya Sarkar has also returned to the squad after being dropped midway through the T20I tri-series.

Sabbir Rahman, Taijul Islam, Rubel Hossain and Najmul Hossain Shanto, who were all part of the squad for the T20I tri-series against Afghanistan and Zimbabwe, were left out.

Read More: India vs South Africa 2019: 3rd Test – India’s Predicted Playing XI

Bangladesh, meanwhile, will play three T20Is and two Tests in India. The T20I series will start on November 3 in Delhi. Rajkot and Nagpur will host the next two games on November 7 and 10 respectively. The Test series will start from November 14 in Indore.

Bangladesh T20I squad:

Shakib Al Hasan (c), Tamim Iqbal, Litton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Naim Sheikh, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Afif Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain, Aminul Islam, Arafat Sunny, Mohammad Saifuddin, Al-Amin Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Shafiul Islam