In recognition of Virat Kohli’s phenomenal success in international cricket, the DDCA has decided to name one stand at Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium after the India captain. Bishan Singh Bedi and Mohinder Amarnath are the two other Delhi players who have stands after their names but the honour came their way after their retirements.

Kohli will be the youngest active cricketer to be bestowed with the honour of a stand being named after him. On this special occasion, the members of the Indian National Cricket Team set to be present when the stand goes unveiled.

Read More: Kieron Pollard Replaces Jason Holder, Carlos Brathwaite As West Indies Limited-Overs Captain

Virat Kohli stand will be unveiled on September 12th:

Recently, the news was announced on the occasion of the eleventh anniversary of Kohli’s international debut. Kohli had made his debut in an ODI against Sri Lanka on August 18, 2008.

Virat Kohli, Virat Kohli stand
(File Photo: IANS)

Speaking to a senior board functionary confirmed that the boys will be present at the unveiling ceremony which will take place at the Weightlifting Auditorium of the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium.

“The boys will be there when DDCA unveils the stand in Kohli”s name. The boys are assembling in the capital on Thursday before heading to Dharamsala on Friday,” the functionary said.

India vs West Indies
Credit: Twitter

Virender Sehwag and Anjum Chopra are the other Delhi players who have gates named after them while the Hall of Fame has been named after former India captain MAK Pataudi. The state cricket body will also felicitate the members of the Indian team at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium on September 12.

The DDCA function will document Kohli’s exceptional talent and success ever since he took over the charge in all formats of the game and the state body cannot think of a better tribute than this.

South Africa are expected to arrive Dharamsala, venue for the first of the three-match Twenty20 International series, on September 9, six days before the match.

Read More: Afghanistan Set Twitter On Fire After Beating Bangladesh To Register Historic Win

After the three T20Is which conclude on September 22, South Africa are scheduled to play three Tests in Visakhapatnam, Pune and Ranchi, starting on October 2 with the first match at Visakhapatnam.

Prashanth Relangi

I just love what I script. Over the years, Cricket has been my passion and crisping articles on it gives me an immense pleasure...Cheers...!!!