Tim Paine, Aaron Finch, Virat Kohli, Royal Challengers Bangalore
Aaron Finch (Credits: Twitter)

Northern Superchargers have named Australia’s ODI and T20I captain Aaron Finch as their captain for the first season of The Hundred. The tournament will be played across five weeks from July 2020 with eight teams fighting for the title. The other seven teams in the competition are -Manchester Originals, Trent Rockets, Birmingham Phoenix, Welsh Fire, Southern Brave, London Spirit and Oval Invincibles.

The format of the game will see each team playing a maximum of 100 balls. In each innings, there would be 15 traditional six-ball overs and a final ten-ball over. There are a number of other changes too as the cricketing world eagerly await the start of the competition in the UK next year.

Meanwhile, Aaron Finch will have the responsibility of leading Northern Superchargers. Apart from the Australia star, the team has the likes of Ben Stokes, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Chris Lynn, Adil Rashid and several other local stars. Former Australia coach Darren Lehmann will be the head coach of the star-studded team.

Aaron Finch
Aaron Finch (Credits: Twitter)

Also Read: Young Indian Woman Cricketer Meets Her Idol Mushfiqur Rahim

Speaking on his appointment, Aaron Finch said that he is excited to lead the Superchargers. He also said that he is confident of the team’s chances next year.

“I’m really excited to be heading back to Emerald Headingley as captain of the Northern Superchargers,” said Aaron Finch.

“I think we have an excellent side with a good mixture of quality English cricketers and some match-winning overseas stars and I’m very confident of our chances when The Hundred kicks off next summer,” he added.

Finch, meanwhile, is not new to playing domestic cricket in England. He has previously played county cricket for Surrey and Yorkshire and did really well. He will be keen to make the most of the experience when he leads the Superchargers.

Northern Superchargers squad for The Hundred:

Aaron Finch (Captain), Chris Lynn, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Ben Stokes, Adil Rashid, David Willey , Adam Lyth, Richard Gleeson, Ben Foakes, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, David Wiese, Nathan Rimmington, Brydon Carse, Ed Barnard, John Simpson