Twitter Reacts As Rohit Sharma Gets Appointed India's New Test Captain

Updated - 22 Jun 2022, 04:25 PM

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma.

On Saturday, the BCCI and the selection committee came up with the massive news of Rohit Sharma’s appointment as the new Test captain of Team India while announcing India’s Test squad vs Sri Lanka. Rohit’s appointment was on the cards ever since Virat Kohli came up with the decision of quitting India’s red-ball captaincy.

The selection committee had no other choice but to go ahead with Rohit being the senior-most member of the squad as Ajinkya Rahane and Cheteshwar Pujara have been struggling to find the form. Rohit Sharma is now India‘s all-format captain as he had already usurped the throne of white ball captaincy last year.

Rohit Sharma. India vs England
Image Source: Twitter

Twitter Reacts On Rohit Sharma’s Appointment As The New Indian Test Captain

Some senior Indian players were handed a whiplash by the selection committee while announcing India’s Test squad vs Sri Lanka. Ajinkya Rahane, Cheteshwar Pujara, Wriddhiman Saha, and Ishant Sharma were all dropped from the squads.

India’s Test squad vs Sri Lanka: Rohit Sharma (C), Mayank Agarwal, Priyank Panchal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, Rishabh Pant (Wk), KS Bharat (Wk), Ravichandran Ashwin (Subject to Fitness), Ravindra Jadeja, Jayant Yadav, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Saurabh Kumar

India National Cricket Team
India National Cricket Team. Image Credits: BCCI

Ravindra Jadeja will be making a return to international cricket with the series against Sri Lanka. Shubman Gill has been added to the squad too which means he will in all likelihood open the batting alongside Rohit and Mayank Agarwal will be acting as the backup opener. Kuldeep Yadav has also made his return to the Test setup against Sri Lanka.’

Twitter was jubilant over Rohit’s appointment as the new Test captain and here are the best tweets:

The India National Cricket Team will be taking on Sri Lanka in a three-match T20I series and a two-match Test series. The T20I series will commence from February 24 and the first game will be played in Lucknow followed by the last two games at Dharamshala. The Test series will begin from March 04 and the two Tests will be played in Mohali and Bangalore respectively.


IND vs SL 2022 India National Cricket Team India vs Sri Lanka 2022 Rohit Sharma Sri Lanka national cricket team Sri Lanka tour of India 2022