Newly crowned Ranji Trophy champions Vidarbha have guaranteed themselves a major money windfall following their heroics in India’s premier first-class tournament. The players have been rewarded with a whopping cash reward of Rs 3 crore from Vidarbha Cricket Association (VCA) for powering the team to its maiden Ranji Trophy title. The news comes after the team was showered with a cash prize of Rs 2 crore by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

ALSO READ : Well Done Vidarbha, Says Gautam Gambhir After Delhi’s Loss In Ranji Trophy Final

VCA President Anand Jaiswal said: “This is a great moment for Vidarbha cricket, and the association will give Rs 3 crore to the players.”

BCCI CEO Rahul Johri also congratulated the champions.

“Heartiest congratulations to Vidarbha on winning their first #RanjiTrophyFinal. Thank you MPCA for being such gracious hosts @BCCI,” Johri tweeted.

Acting president CK Khanna said, “It has been a tremendous performance by the Vidarbha team. I congratulate them on their stupendous show.”

ALSO READ: Vidarbha Crowned as Ranji Trophy 2017-18 Champions after thrashing depleted Delhi

Vidarbha, who were playing their maiden Ranji Trophy, were up against seven-time Champions Delhi in the title-decider. But just like the whole tournament, they once again exceeded all the expectations, dismantling their illustrious opponents by nine wickets to cap off a fairy-tale tournament. After deciding to field first in the all-important clash, the inexperienced finalists bowled out Delhi for just 295 with Rajneesh Gurbani once again starring with the ball, picking up six wickets including a hat-trick.

In reply, Vidarbha posted a mammoth 547 all out with Akshay Wadkar leading the charge with his maiden century in first-class cricket. On the fourth day of the game which eventually turned out to be the last, Vidarbha lost their last three wickets for just 19 runs after starting the day on 528 for seven.

In their second innings, Delhi were all out for 280, thus setting Vidarbha a paltry 29-run target. The Faiz Fazal-led side chased down the total with utmost ease at the Holkar Stadium to create history.

Video of the day: