Vinay Kumar, Manish Pandey Feature on the List of Retained Players for KPL

Published - 20 Jul 2018, 01:45 PM

Manish Pandey Vinay Kumar
Vinay Kumar and Manish Pandey feature in the list of retained players for KPL 2018. Credits: Espncricinfo

Table of Contents

India internationals Manish Pandey and Vinay Kumar feature on the list of retained cricketers by the seven Karnataka Premier League (KPL) franchises for the 2018 edition.

Meanwhile, the auctions for the league will take place on July 21. The franchises could retain four players each, and they used the full quota to keep 28 players. Furthermore, all the retained cricketers are not from Pool A, which undermines the talent in the state.

The franchises made their decision very wisely and considered availability, form, and suitability while retaining. While Hubli Tigers retained Vinay Kumar, Belagabi Panthers retained Manish Pandey and Stuart Binny.

They also made tough calls and overlooked Mayank Agarwal, Karun Nair, K Goutham and Shreyas Gopal for several reasons. However, they will be the star attraction during the auctions.


The rest of the squads will get finalised at the auction before which the franchises will be provided with a list of players, categorised into Pool A and Pool B, to choose from.

Furthermore, the squad will comprise of 15 to 18 players in maximum. Besides this, each team has to include two players from their respective catchment areas mandatorily. The franchises have 20,000 above Rs 30 lakh ceiling for this players.

The Rs 30 lakh includes the amounts paid to the retained players. The league will kick-start on the scheduled date of August 15. Belagavi Panthers, who are the defending champions will look to retain their title, as they have started the auction with a bang.

Also Read: South Africa seek redemption to level series against Sri Lanka