Virat Kohli Set To Become The 4th Captain To Lead In 150 T20 Games

Virat Kohli Set To Become The 4th Captain To Lead In 150 T20 Games

Virat Kohli
India and RCB captain Virat Kohli has given a clearance over his fitness regime recently. Image Courtesy: BCCI

Virat Kohli, India and Royal Challengers Bangalore captain, will be joining an elite list of captains who have led their sides’ for more than 150 times in Twenty20 cricket when RCB lock horns with defending champions Mumbai Indians on Tuesday. Kohli will join the likes of MS Dhoni [273], Darren Sammy [208] and Gautam Gambhir [170], who have captained in T20 cricket for 150-plus times.

The match will be Virat Kohli’s 150th as T20 captain. Kohli had led his Indian Premier League franchise in 112 matches and he is the 3rd most-capped captain in the history of the cash-rich league behind MS Dhoni [177] and Gautam Gambhir [129]. Besides that Kohli has also led the Indian team in 37 T20Is and he is only second to former skipper MS Dhoni [72] in terms of most matches as an Indian T20I captain.

Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma
Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma (Credits: Twitter)

Virat’s captaincy will once again be in the spotlight on Tuesday as he aims to trump his white-ball cricket deputy and the most successful IPL captain in Rohit Sharma following his sides’ chastening defeat to Kings XI Punjab in the last game.

Kohli’s side got off to a brilliant start to their Dream11 IPL campaign as they defeated SunRisers Hyderabad in their opening game before being absolutely blown away by the KL Rahul-led Kings XI Punjab in the last game. Mumbai Indians, on other hand, came back brilliantly in the last game against Kolkata Knight Riders after having suffered their 6th consecutive defeat on UAE soil in the opening game of the competition against CSK.

Mumbai Indians have had a lid over Virat Kohli’s RCB in recent times. While they hold an 0verall 16-9 head-t0-head advantage over RCB, they have won seven of their last encounterrs against the Bangalore-based franchise since IPL 2016. Can Virat Kohli snap the streak in his 150th game as captain?

Also Read- Buzz About MS Dhoni’s Batting Position Putting Pressure on CSK, Says Brett Lee

Most T20s as captain-

MS Dhoni- 273*

Darren Sammy- 208

Gautam Gambhir- 170


Yash Mittal

Just a student of this beautiful game called cricket. Writer. Storyteller.