West Indies Announce Squad For England Tests

West Indies Announce Squad For England Tests

West Indies
West Indies (Credit: Getty Images)

West Indies, on Wednesday, announced their squad for the upcoming three-match Test series against England. The series, which was initially scheduled to take place this month, will be played next month. The series will be played behind closed doors.

The Caribbean outfit has included Chemar Holder, Raymon Reifer, Nkrumah Bonner and Jermaine Blackwood in its 14-man squad. In addition to those 14 players, West Indies have also named 11 reserve players as they gear up for their first series since the pandemic stopped all the action.

West Indies will be without the likes of Darren Bravo, Shimron Hetmyer and Keemo Paul as the trio declined to tour England. Cricket West Indies, on their part, said it “fully respects their decision to choose to do so. As previously stated, CWI will not hold this decision against these players when considering future selection”.

Darren Bravo
Darren Bravo. Credit: Getty Images

Chemar has been doing consistently well in domestic circuit. Part of West Indies’ U19 World Cup victorious team in 2016, Chemar picked up 36 wickets at an impressive average of 18.91 in the 2019-20 first-class season. Bonner, on the other hand, has the experience of 69 first-class games. He has already represented West Indies in a couple of T20Is.

Reifer and Blackwood have been recalled into the Test squad. The selectors have also named 11 reserve players which include the likes of Shannon Gabriel, Sunil Ambris, Oshane Thomas, Jomel Warrican and Keon Harding.

Meanwhile, the first Test of the series will be played in Southampton from July 8. The second and third Test of the series will take place at Old Trafford, starting on July 16 and 24 respectively.

West Indies squad:

Jason Holder (c), Jermaine Blackwood, Nkrumah Bonner, Kraigg Brathwaite, Shamarh Brooks, John Campbell, Roston Chase, Rakheem Cornwall, Shane Dowrich, Chemar Holder, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Raymon Reifer and Kemar Roach

Reserve players:

Sunil Ambris, Joshua da Silva, Shannon Gabriel, Keon Harding, Kyle Mayers, Preston McSween, Marquino Mindley, Shane Moseley, Anderson Phillip, Oshane Thomas, Jomel Warrican

Also Read: MS Dhoni Taught Me ‘Calmness’, Virat Kohli ‘Hunger’: Hardik Pandya

Also Read: “We Are Ready”: CPL Organisers Keen To Host Tournament In August