Women's T20 Challenge Set To Take Place Between November 4 and 9

Women’s T20 Challenge Set To Take Place Between November 4 and 9

Women's T20 Challenge
Women's T20 Challenger Trophy [Photo-BCCI]

The Women’s T20 Challenge 2020 will be played between November 4 and 9 in the UAE like the IPL. In August, the BCCI had announced that the tournament will be played during the IPL playoffs. The tournament will be played amongst three teams with a total of four games being held.

According to an ESPNcricinfo report, both the Indian and the overseas players will reach UAE by the third week of October and the squads will be together in a bio-secure bubble in one hotel. A six-day quarantine period is mandatory for the squads during which tests would be conducted on days one, three, and five. Players will be allowed to start training only on clearing all three tests.

Women's T20 Challenge Set To Take Place Between November 4 and 9
Trailblazers celebrates the wicket of Harmanpreet Kaur captain of Supernovas during the Women’s IPL T20 Challenge match between the Trailblazers and the Supernovas held at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on the 22nd May 2018. Photo by: Vipin Pawar /SPORTZPICS for BCCI

Though the BCCI has not made any formal announcements, the tournament is most likely to be preceded by four training sessions for each team. The Indian board is currently finalizing the list of overseas players. The list of Indian participants is also close to being confirmed because of the formation of a new selection panel for the women’s national team.

Women’s T20 Challenge will collide with the WBBL

The Women’s T20 Challenge will clash with the WBBL, which is scheduled to start on October 21. As a result, the chances of participation of most top-flight Australia, New Zealand, and South Africa players are extremely low. Two English stars, Natalie Sciver and Katherine Brunt will also miss out on the tournament as they have been picked up by the Melbourne Stars for the sixth edition of the WBBL.

However, several players from England, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka are expected to feature in the third edition of the T20 Challenge.

Also Read: Shane Warne Picks His Top-4 Teams To Qualify For IPL 2020 Playoffs

Also Read: Shane Warne Names Three Players He Would Be Watching With Interest