England national cricket team (Image Credits: Twitter)
England national cricket team (Image Credits: Twitter)

Last Update on: September 2nd, 2022 at 04:04 pm

Stay up-to-date with the latest teams!
Join our Telegram channel and never miss a single lineup change post-toss. 🔄📢 telegram

The England Men’s selection panel has picked a squad of 15 for the ICC T20 World Cup 2022, which will be held in Australia beginning in October.

Dawid Malan is called up after impressing in England’s recent series against South Africa. This year, the left-hander has a strike rate of 148.27 in T20Is and is Morgan’s like-for-like replacement. He is also The Hundred’s current leading run-scorer, with 358 runs at 59.66.

Dawid Malan
Dawid Malan. Photo-Getty

Jos Buttler, who succeeded Eoin Morgan, who announced his retirement from international cricket earlier this year, is leading the squad in its first major competition.

Seam bowlers Chris Woakes and Mark Wood have both made the squads for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup and the IT20 tour of Pakistan in September after overcoming their respective injuries.

Chris Woakes.
Chris Woakes. Credits: Twitter

Both players last played for England during the Test tour of the West Indies back in March.

Jason Roy is not included in the 15-man squad:

Jason Roy is not included in the 15-man team because England prefers Phil Salt, who made his T20I debut earlier this year, after a disappointing run for his country’s side and in The Hundred. Since the final T20 World Cup in the UAE in 2021, Jason Roy has played in 11 T20 Internationals, scoring 206 runs at an average of 18.72. after a bad run of form, from the T20 world cup squad

Read More  IND vs AUS Head to Head Records in ODIs – 3rd ODI, 2023
Jason Roy. Photo- Getty
Jason Roy. Photo- Getty

Tymal Mills, the leading wicket-taker from the last tournament until his injury ended the campaign, has been left out of the starting lineup but has been included as a travelling reserve along with Liam Dawson and Richard Gleeson.

The team will kick off the 2022 season on October 22 against Afghanistan in Perth to improve on their semi-final appearance at the T20 World Cup the last year.

The England squad for T20 World cup 2022: Jos Buttler (c), Moeen Ali, Jonathan Bairstow, Harry Brook, Sam Curran, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Phil Salt, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, David Willey, Chris Woakes, and Mark Wood.

Travel Reserve: Tymal Mills, Liam Dawson, and Richard Gleeson

Also Read: Asia Cup 2022: Danish Kaneria Suggests Team India To Drop Yuzvendra Chahal On Sunday