ICC T20 World Cup 2022: Netherlands Name Strong Squad For Marquee Event

Updated - 07 Sep 2022, 04:40 PM

New Zealand vs Netherlands
New Zealand vs Netherlands (Image: Twitter)

The Netherlands have named a strong squad for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup. The team is much stronger than the one that recently played against New Zealand at home. The likes of Roelof van der Merwe and Colin Ackermann are notable inclusions in the Netherlands squad for the ICC T20 World Cup.

Six members of the 16-men squad did not play against New Zealand. The six players are – Van der Merwe, Ackermann, Timm van der Gugten, Brandon Glover, Fred Klaassen and Paul van Meekeren, On the other hand, 4 players who were in the squad for the New Zealand series have been omitted from the squad for the marquee event.

Roelof Van Der Merwe
Roelof Van Der Merwe (Image Credit: Twitter)

The players are – Aryan Dutt, Clayton Floyd, Vivian Kingma and Ryan Klein. Wicketkeeper-batsman Scott Edwards will be leading the side and will have experienced campaigners like Logan van Beek, Tom Cooper, Bas de Leede, Stephan Myburgh and Max O’Dowd by his side.

“We have assembled a well-balanced squad with an exciting blend of youth and experience for the upcoming T20 World Cup,” head coach Ryan Cook said. “The experience playing in the Super League will stand the team in good stead and good confidence can be taken from these performances.

“We will look to continue the progression that was evident through the summer into the tournament and have some quality preparation planned prior to the event which will help the readiness for the group in both skills and cohesion,” he added.

Netherlands’ route to ICC T20 World Cup:

Netherlands qualified for the ICC T20 World Cup through the T20 World Cup Qualifier in Bulawayo. While they lost the final of the qualifier to Zimbabwe, the Netherlands booked their place in Australia by appearing in the final. They have been placed in Group A alongside Namibia, Sri Lanka and the UAE. Two teams from the group will make it to the next stage.

Netherlands squad for ICC T20 World Cup:

Scott Edwards (c, wk), Colin Ackermann, Shariz Ahmad, Logan van Beek, Tom Cooper, Brandon Glover, Timm van der Gugten, Fred Klaassen, Bas de Leede, Paul van Meekeren, Roelof van der Merwe, Stephan Myburgh, Teja Nidamanuru, Max O’Dowd, Tim Pringle, Vikram Singh


ICC T20 World Cup ICC T20 World Cup 2022 Netherlands National Cricket Team