Babar Azam
Babar Azam. Pic Credit: Twitter

Last Update on: October 23rd, 2022 at 10:31 am

Babar Azam, a star player in all formats and holder of numerous records, now has a chance to surpass MS Dhoni’s illustrious record as the greatest T20 World Cup captain in tournament history.

The 2022 T20 World Cup campaign for Pakistan will get underway on Sunday at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

MS Dhoni, Indian Player
MS Dhoni (Image Credit: Twitter)

In their opening match of the competition, they will face Team India. After serving as captain during the 2021 T20 World Cup, Babar Azam will be in charge of the Pakistani team for the second time at an ICC event. Babar, who is already a star batter in all formats and has numerous records to his credit, now has a chance to topple former India captain MS Dhoni’s incredible record as a captain in T20 World Cup history.

Babar Azam
Babar Azam. Pic Credits: Twitter

The player with the most runs at the end of the 2021 T20 World Cup was Babar. In helping Pakistan reach the semifinals, he amassed 303 runs at a 60.60 average and four half-centuries. In the T20 World Cup, it surpassed Mahela Jayawardene’s 2012 record for Sri Lanka as the highest run total by a captain. Furthermore, with four half-centuries, he has already amassed the most fifty-plus scores by a skipper in tournament history.

Babar Azam Is On The Edge Of Surpassing MS Dhoni’ Incredible Record:

With Babar about to start his second T20 World Cup campaign as skipper, he has an opportunity to surpass the legendary Dhoni by the end of the 2022 edition of the competition as the captain with the most runs scored.

Babar Azam
Babar Azam. Pic Credits: Twitter

Between 2007 and 2016, the former India captain captained the Men in Blue for six different tournaments. He scored 529 runs for India in 33 appearances, a record for captains in the T20 World Cup. Babar is listed seventh, 226 runs behind Dhoni’s total. As he is 168 runs short of breaking Dhoni’s record, New Zealand captain Kane Williamson, who is second on the list, also has a chance to surpass him.

Also Read: ICC T20 World Cup 2022 IND vs PAK- Head to Head Records