Sourav Ganguly
Sourav Ganguly. Credits: Twitter

The fifth Test between India and England will see the likes of BCCI president Sourav Ganguly and other top officials in attendance at Edgbaston in Birmingham on July 1. India leads the series 2-1 and needs to draw or win this match to pocket the series, while England needs to win this match to draw level in the series.

The rescheduled match is a part of last year’s five-match Test series that had to be delayed after the fourth Test due to a COVID-19 outbreak in the Indian camp.

England are coming into this match after clean sweeping World Test Champions New Zealand at home, basically steamrolling the opposition in a show of ultra-aggressive cricket under the leadership of new captain Ben Stokes and coach Brendon McCullum.

Jasprit Bumrah Rohit Sharma
Jasprit Bumrah, Rohit Sharma. (Photo: Twitter)

India Aiming For Their Fourth Test Series Win In England As Sourav Ganguly To Witness The Fifth Test

India last won a Test series in England in 2007 and if they managed to win this Test and series, it will be their fourth Test series win in England after 1971, 1986 and 2007. India will only have played one warm-up match against Leicestershire heading into the Test and will be without their regular captain Rohit Sharma, who contracted Covid and failed to recover in time.

Jasprit Bumrah was named India captain for this Test match and he’ll make his debut in front of BCCI president Sourav Ganguly who will be in attendance.

Sourav Ganguly
Sourav Ganguly (Image Credit: Twitter)

Before the match, sources told ANI, “BCCI President Sourav Ganguly and top officials are expected to come and watch India versus England Birmingham Test at Edgbaston Stadium.”

England won the toss and chose to bowl first.

England won the toss and chose to bowl first. PC-BCCI
England won the toss and chose to bowl first. PC-BCCI

England Playing XI: Alex Lees, Zak Crawley, Ollie Pope, Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes (C), Sam Billings (WK), Matthew Potts, Stuart Broad, Jack Leach, James Anderson

India Playing XI: Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (WK), Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Jasprit Bumrah (C)

Also Read: SL vs AUS: Nathan Lyon Enters An Elusive Club, Moves Into Top 10 Of All-Time Test Wicket-Takers List