Aakash Chopra (Image Credits: Twitter)
Aakash Chopra (Image Credits: Twitter)

The probable starting lineup for Sunday’s second ODI between Team India and the West Indies has been picked by Aakash Chopra. He believes Prasidh Krishna would have pressure to prove why he deserves to be in the starting lineup after his lackluster ball returns.

On Sunday, July 24, the Men in Blue and the Windies will square off in the second encounter of their three-match series at the Queen’s Park Oval in Port of Spain, Trinidad. They are probably going to use the same starting lineup from the three-run victory in game one.

Prasidh Krishna
Prasidh Krishna (Image Credits: Twitter)

Aakash Chopra explained why he chose Shikhar Dhawan and Shubman Gill to be his openers in a video posted to his YouTube account.

“Is there potential for change? I will start with the introductions. Shikhar Dhawan is going to hit me hard again. I would like Shubman Gill to play a little bit more. I have never seen Shubman play poorly; he appears like a player in the mold of Rohit Sharma and scores 40 to 50 wonderful runs.”

Shikhar Dhawan and Shubman Gill. PC- AFP(1)
Shikhar Dhawan and Shubman Gill. PC- AFP(1)

“When Shikhar Dhawan starts scoring runs, he does not stop. His last three or four matches were not all that strong, but he has now turned things around. At No. 3, I can once more see Shreyas Iyer. Once more, I anticipate runs from his willow. On this wicket, fast bowling from Alzarri Joseph or Jayden Seales will not bother him because he will play spin well.”

‘Yuzi Chahal will do well’: Aakash Chopra

Aakash Chopra remarked that if Prasidh Krishna is unable to participate on Sunday, Arshdeep Singh could step in.

Yuzvendra Chahal
Yuzvendra Chahal. (Photo: Twitter)

“Will succeed is Yuzi Chahal. Prasidh Krishna will likely be under pressure, in my opinion. Four or five games have not been successful. Otherwise, Arshdeep might be playing, therefore he needs to get several wickets.”

Aakash Chopra’s India XI for 2nd ODI:  Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Sanju Samson, Deepak Hooda, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammed Siraj, Prasidh Krishna

Also Read: Commonwealth Games 2022: This Tournament Is Important For Us, We Are Playing For Medal – Harmanpreet Kaur